Databases in Ryan Library: N-O

This database is an online listening library of classical music available online offering over 500,000 tracks of Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. Search for works by composer, artist, period, year of composition, instrument or genre; or find a playlist set up by a professor for a specific assignment.

Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.

This multi-disciplinary database contains a wealth of essential material for learning and detailed research in a single, easily-searched database. With the full text of articles from over 2,500 publications, and indexing and abstracts from nearly 3,600 publications, this database provides invaluable support for research in all core undergraduate subjects and for cross-disciplinary work.

This database searches 14 major nursing journals with full-text coverage from the 1990s to the current issue. Ovid Nursing Journals includes AJN - American Journal of Nursing, Journal of Christian Nursing, Nurse Educator, and 11 others. Journals can be searched as a set or individually.

All the content of the many volume set of the Oxford English Dictionary, online! The OED provides authoritative definitions of over 500,000 words, traces the usage of words from their first recorded occurrence to the modern period through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international language sources, offers the best in etymological analysis and detailed listings of variant spellings, and uses the International Phonetic Alphabet to show pronunciation.

This site comprises the complete full-text content of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.

Oxford Reference Online offers over 175 full-text, fully-indexed, cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press, including detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions Series.