Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Who can use Ryan Library?
1. PLNU Students, Faculty and Staff
Ryan Library exists primarily to serve the research and information needs of the PLNU Community including current students, faculty and staff. PLNU patrons can use their PLNU ID card to access library services:
- Check out books
- Check out key to Group Study Rooms
- Access online databases remotely
- Request interlibrary loans
2. Community Users
It is the policy of Ryan Library to make its resources available to the public. Members of the community surrounding PLNU are welcome to use the library for research or study, and community library cards may be purchased at the Reference desk.
Please take note of the following policies regarding community use of library computers:
- Community users are invited to conduct research, search online employment listings, or briefly (20-minute maximum) access their email accounts.
- PLNU students, staff, and faculty are always the library’s top priority. At busy times, community users may be asked to relinquish a computer terminal for student use.
- Members of the community using research computers for any purpose deemed inappropriate in light of the University’s emphasis on grace, truth, and holiness will be asked to leave the library.
Copying and Scanning
A digital scanner with email capability is available in the library reference area.
Ask a Librarian Service
The Research Help Desk at Ryan Library welcomes electronic reference questions from members of the Point Loma Nazarene University community (faculty/staff/students).
We regret that Ryan Library does not have the resources to answer questions from other individuals, unless the question concerns Ryan Library policies and procedures, library material unique to Point Loma, or other Point Loma Library-related information
"Ask A Librarian" Hours
|Monday - Thursday
||7:00 am to 1:00 am
||7:00 am to 5:00 pm
||11:00 am to 6:00 pm
1:00 pm to Midnight
Instant Messaging and Email Reference will be limited during holidays and school breaks.
What is Where in Ryan Library?
- Circulation Desk
- Check out books
- Find items on Reserve
- Check out Group Study Room key
- Access to Middle and Upper Levels via SW Stair Tower and NW Inner Stairwell
- Research Help Desk
- Reference Books (i.e. encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases)
- Current periodicals
- Study areas
- Librarians' Offices
- Library Instruction Room 202
- Access to Computer Labs
- Books (call #'s 000 - 299.999)
- Photocopier and digital scanner
- Paper cutter, pencil sharpener, and electric hole punch/stapler
- Individual study desks
- Books (call #'s 300 - 699.999)
- Group Study Rooms (check out key at Circulation Desk)
- Study areas
- Books (call #'s 700 - 999.999, Juvenile Literature, and Oversized Books)
- Individual study desks
- Quiet study areas
Group Study Rooms in Ryan Library
Ryan Library has 9 Group Study Rooms for our PLNU community (students/faculty/staff).
These rooms are available on request and may not be reserved.
Request a key for your group at the Circulation Desk.
Five rooms have a chalkboard for your convenience.
Four of the rooms are equipped with technology to enhance your study experience.
Special Collections in Ryan Library
Ryan Library maintains several Special Collections on-site, including:
||Works by or about James Arminius
||Works by or about John or Charles Wesley
||Works by holiness authors writing prior to the Wesleys
NOTE: Special Collections items do not circulate. They are available for use in the Reference area by request.
To request use of Special Collections materials, contact the Reference Desk (619.849.2337)
Ask a Librarian
Chat with a librarian here!
You can also connect via text message at 619-592-8884 or by email.
Find Books @ Ryan Library
WorldCat is the tool you need to research books (and more)::
- Books and media materials at PLNU
- ebooks available through PLNU
- Articles from some of our most-used databases
- Books available for InterLibrary Loan through Camino
- Books available through WorldCat at other institutions (request through Interlibrary Loan)
A few things you should know:
- For books found in Ryan Library, the check out period for PLNU students and staff is 3 weeks, with an option to renew for an additional 3 weeks. The check out period for faculty is 6 months, with no opportunity to renew.
- For books borrowed through Camino, the check out period is 5 weeks, with no option to renew.
- You can renew books online by logging in and using the "My Library Account" link in the upper right of the screen.
Collections in Archives
The University Archives are located at the PLNU Mission Valley Campus. Although the Archives are not open to the public, materials stored in Archives may be available for viewing.
Use ILLiad to request an item from the University Archives.
|Books or other publications written by Pasadena/Point Loma Nazarene University alumni, faculty, staff, or students.
|P'Cinian and Point Weekly from 1944 - 2005.
|A publication produced by the university to inform students about events, jobs, deadlines from the registrar, etc.
Please note that the University Archives are in the process of organization and cataloging; as a result, some items in the University Archives may be currently inaccessible.
Email email@example.com to determine whether the items you would like to request are accessible.