Skip to Main Content

How To Do Research: Session 1: Research as Inquiry

Use this guide to begin research on a new topic and to learn more about Ryan Library's research tools.

Read More about It in The Saint Martin's Handbook

PLNU's College Composition courses use the 9th Edition of The St. Martin's Handbook as a guide to research. 

 The section beginning on page 240 provides guidance for citing sources in MLA style.  

 The section beginning on page 287 provides guidance for citing sources in APA style.

Sample Subject Encyclopedias

These are just a few examples of the hundreds of specialized encyclopedias available in Ryan Library:

Find an Encyclopedia Article on Your Topic in Credo Reference

Use the Credo Reference database from the Ryan Library All Databases list to locate a subject encyclopedia article on your topic.   This article will provide background information for your research.

 Navigating to the Credo Reference database from the Library’s homepage:

  1. Go to the Library’s homepage (pointloma.edu/library).
  2. Choose the All Databases list under Quick Links (on left side of the homepage).
  3. Choose ‘C’ for Credo on the All Databases list. The Credo database is the last one listed under databases that start with ‘C.’ Note: Once you click on the Credo hyperlink, you may be directed to enter your PLNU username and password (the same as used for Canvas and PLNU email.)

See a librarian if you have questions about using Credo or using any of the Library's other reference resources.

Evaluating Sources for Authority

Consider Quality...

These principles of web source evaluation are drawn from The St. Martin's Handbook, 9th edition (pp.198-99):

Authorship

Does the site/document have an author? What are the author's credentials? Why should you trust this author as an expert? 

Publisher/Sponsor

Who sponsors or publishes the source? What evidence demonstrates that the sponsor/publisher is credible? What purpose/perspective does the sponsor seem to promote?

Currency

How recently was the information posted or modified? Could it be outdated or obsolete?

Credibility

How do you know that the information itself is trustworthy? Are there links to other sites/sources to support factual claims?

 

Find Books at Ryan Library

WorldCat is Ryan Library's catalog. It includes a variety of resources:

  • Books and videos on the shelf at PLNU
  • ebooks available through PLNU
  • Articles from some of our most-used databases
  • Books available around the world for request through InterLibrary Loan

A few things you should know:

  • Ryan Library books can be kept for 3 weeks and renewed for 3 more.
  • Renew Ryan Library books by logging in and selecting "Sign In" in the upper right corner.

Access ebooks

Ryan Library subscribes to thousands of eBooks through two different ebook collections:

  • Ebook Central: A collection of over 140,000 scholarly and reference books. Ebook Central is integrated into WorldCat, but it can be searched separately using this Ebook Central link.
  • EBSCO ebooks: This collection provides full-text access to hundreds of digital books on a variety of subjects.

Requesting Materials from Other Libraries

For articles, books, and other materials that are not available at Ryan Library:

    InterLibrary Loan

***Ebooks are rarely available via InterLibrary Loan***

  • Ebook chapters may be more readily obtained than the entire book. Specify chapters/page numbers when possible.
  • Books requested via InterLibrary Loan take a minimum of 7-10 business days to receive.
  • Loan periods and renewal availability vary depending on the participating libraries; overdue charges will apply.
PLEASE NOTE: PROCESSING MAY BE DELAYED DURING PLNU HOLIDAYS

Click Here for ILL Request Form

Select ARTICLE or BOOK when placing your request.