LibGuides: Theology, Christian Ministries, and Philosophy: Internet Sources

Recommended Theology Websites

Listed below are several quality websites on theology. If you have suggestions for additional websites, please contact Julie Sweeney.

American Religion Data Archive
The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) strives to democratize access to the best data on religion and is hosted by Pennsylvania State University.
Beacon Bible Expositions Collection on the New Testament (12 volumes in full text)
These electronic commentaries are available in full text through the Wesleyan Holiness Digital Library.
Bible.com
Read the Bible from your phone, tablet or computer.
Bible Gateway
Find and compare particular passages in scripture based on keywords, phrases, or scripture reference
Cambridge Digital Library
The Cambridge Digital Library provides access to digitized copies of rare manuscripts. Two areas of strength in this collection are faith and science.
Christian Classics Ethereal Library
Full-text digital library of hundreds of classic Christian books
Christian Classics Ethereal Library: Writings of the Early Church Fathers
The Christian Classics Ethereal Library is a digital library of hundreds of classic Christian books selected for edification and education by affiliates of Calvin College.
Dead Sea Scrolls
The Israel Museum's the Dead Sea Scrolls Digital Project allows users to examine and explore these most ancient manuscripts from Second Temple times at a level of detail never before possible. Developed in partnership with Google, the new website gives users access to searchable, fast-loading, high-resolution images of the scrolls, as well as short explanatory videos and background information on the texts and their history.
Early Christian Writings
Early Christian Writings is the most complete collection of Christian texts before the Council of Nicaea in 325 AD. The site provides translations and commentary for these sources, including the New Testament, Apocrypha, Gnostics, Church Fathers, and some non-Christian references.
Early Christian Writings: eCatena
This site provides cross-references, translations and commentary on scripture.
European Society of Women in Theological Research
Directory, open access journal access, announcements, etc., for this network for theological researchers.
Gifford Lectures
One of the foremost lecture series dealing with religion, science and philosophy. The online Gifford Lectures database presents a comprehensive collection of books derived from the Gifford Lectures. In addition to the books, the Web site contains a biography of each lecturer and a summary of the lecture or book.
Google Search for Open Access Bible Commentaries Online
This customized Google search pulls results from multiple online Bible research tools such as biblegateway.com and biblehub.com.
New Advent
Contains public domain translations of many ancient and medieval Christian writings
New Testament Gateway
Resources on the New Testament
New Testament Gateway (Maps)
This website is a comprehensive directory of academic internet resources related to the New Testament. The webpage provided is a list of New Testament maps.
Online Critical Pseudapigrapha
The mandate of the Online Critical Pseudepigrapha is to develop and publish electronic editions of the best critical texts of the "Old Testament" Pseudepigrapha and related literature.
Open Access Digital Theological Library
The mission of Open Access Digital Theological Library (OADTL) is to curate high-quality content in religious studies and related disciplines from publisher websites, institutional repositories, scholarly societies, archives, and stable public domain collections. It contains over 165,000 ebooks, including tens of thousands of recent books from publishers like Brill, de Gruyter, University of Chicago, Cambridge, Oxford and others and provides access to over 40,000 dissertations in religious studies. OADTL is sponsored by the Claremont School of Theology.
Pew Forum on Religion and Public Life
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research.
Pluralism Project
The Pluralism Project was developed by Diana L. Eck at Harvard University to study and document the growing religious diversity of the United States, with a special view to its new immigrant religious communities.
Princeton Theological Seminary's Theological Commons
The Theological Commons is a digital library of over 130,000 resources on theology and religion. Developed in partnership with the Internet Archive it contains books, journals, audio recordings, photographs, manuscripts, and other formats dating from 975 C.E. to the present.
Religion Online
A compilation of works describing the history of the Christian church, including works by John Wesley, digitized in full text.
Resource Page for Bible Studies
Compiled by Torrey Seland, Professor of New Testament Studies, School of Mission and Theology, Norway. The Resource Pages for Biblical Studies are intended as a resource for serious, scholarly studies of the early Christian writings and their social world
Resources for New Testament Exegesis
This website is a collection of links to websites, software and tutorials useful in New Testament research and is maintained by Roy E. Ciampa, Ph.D., a professor of New Testament at Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Online encyclopedia, monitored by experts from Stanford University
Syriaca.org: The Syriac Reference Portal
The Syriac Reference Portal project was conceived to produce tools and reference resources that will overcome some of the access and discovery problems which currently impede scholarly research on Syriac language, cultures, and history.
Syriac Institute
Beth Mardutho seeks to promote the study and preservation of the Syriac heritage and language, and to facilitate opportunities for people to pursue the study of this ancient legacy globally. We aim to serve the academic community and the heirs of the heritage.
TheBible.org
This website provides multiple translations of the Bible side by side, including translations in Greek.
Twentieth Century Encyclopedia of Religious Knowledge (ebook)
This two-volume encyclopedia set is in the public domain and is available as an ebook through the Hathi Trust.
Vetus Latina: Resources for the Study of the Old Latin Bible
This website provides resources on the Vetus Latina for scholars and students engaged in the study of the early Church and the history of the Bible.
Virtual Religion Index
Extensive, selective and annotated directory of Internet resources on religion, philosophy, and related topics
Virtual Theological Library Project
Provides links to open access online commentaries searchable by type.
Wesleyan-Holiness Digital Library
The Wesleyan-Holiness Digital Library is a free, multidisciplinary, open access, digital resource of books, literature, multimedia material, and archives collected into a single institutional repository initiated by the global Church of the Nazarene in response to the global need for access to resources for education, lifelong learning, and specifically ministerial preparation.

Evaluating Websites

Considering the following categories when evaluating an internet source for quality, credibility and trustworthiness.

Authorship

Does the Web site or document have an author? You may need to do some clicking and scrolling to find the author’s name. If you have landed directly on an internal page of a site, for example, you may need to navigate to the home page or find an “about this site” link to learn the name of the author.
If there is an author, can you tell whether he or she is knowledgeable and credible? When the author’s qualifications aren’t listed on the site itself, look for links to the author’s home page, which may provide evidence of his or her interests and expertise.

Publisher/Sponsorship

Who, if anyone, publishes or sponsors the site? The sponsor of a site is often named and described on the home page.
What does the URL tell you? The domain name extension often indicates the type of group hosting the site: commercial (.com), educational (.edu), nonprofit (.org), governmental (.gov), military (.mil), or network (.net). URLs may also indicate a country of origin: .uk (United Kingdom) or .jp (Japan), for instance.

Purpose and audience

Why was the site created: To argue a position? To sell a product? To inform readers?
Who is the site’s intended audience?

Currency

How current is the site? Check for the date of publication or the latest update, often located at the bottom of the home page or at the beginning or end of an internal page.
How current are the site’s links? If many of the links no longer work, the site may be too dated for your purposes.

Recommended Philosophy Websites

Here are some examples of types of helpful Philosophy internet resources. Place the cursor over the link for website's content description. If you have suggestions for additional links, please contact Julie Sweeney.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Use this online encyclopedia to find brief articles written and maintained by experts in the field of philosophy.
Ask Philosophers
This website facilitates the answer of philosophy related questions by philosophers.
Early Modern Texts
This website provides versions of early modern philosophy classics, as well as a few from the 19th century.
Ethics Updates
Designed for the use of ethics professors and student. Provids resources and updates on current literature relating to ethics.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Offers scholarly, peer-reviewed articles on topics and philosophers in various fields of philosophy. Articles are surveys of given fields.
Notre Dame Philosophical Reviews
Offers substantive reviews of current philosophy books within a year of their publication.
PhilPapers: Online Research in Philosophy
This website is "a comprehensive directory of online philosophy articles and books by academic philosophers."
Philosophers Imprint
A refereed open access series of original papers hosted at the University of Michigan.
Project Vox
Giving voice to Early Modern Women philosophers; features images, texts, sample syllabi for teaching and research.
Virtual Library of Christian Philosophy
This site from Calvin College provides articles on various philosophers and key philosophical topics.

Subject Guide

Julie Sweeney

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Ryan Library
Office 208A

619-849-2472

Subjects: Literature, Journalism, Writing & Languages, Music, Theology & Christian Ministry, Women's Studies

Advanced Internet Searching

Google Advanced Search - Provides more options for your search strategy.
Google Advanced Scholar Search - Search for scholarly articles.
Google Advanced Book Search - Search for books on your topic.