Skip to main content

Theology and Philosophy: Articles and Databases

Research Guide in the areas of Theology, Philosophy, and Christian Ministry.

Ryan Library Databases for Religion/Philosophy Sources

 Ryan Library Databases are subscriptions provided to the PLNU community for online access to journal and magazine articles and/or citations.

You will be prompted for your PLNU network username and password (same as email) to access these databases.

Some recommended databases for students of Religion/Philosophy are:

(Hint: You can search the five databases above together by clicking on "Choose Databases" once you are inside one of the databases and adding the other three databases to the same search.)

Search by Scripture in the ATLA database:

Print Journals for Philosophy

The current issues of our periodicals are kept in the Reference Area of Ryan Library. All back issues are kept in the Lower Level. Periodicals are arranged alphabetically.

The Journal of Philosophy: v. 42 (1945) to present

The Philosophical Review: v. 1 (1892) to present

International Philosophical Quarterly: IPQ: v. 1 (1961) to present

Journal of the History of Philosophy: v. 8 (1970) to present

Philosophy Today: v. 1 (1967) to present

Proceedings of the American Philosophical Society: v. 97 (1953) to present

Philosophy and Phenomenological Research v. 33 (1972) to v. 46 (1986)

Faith and Philosophy: Journal of the Society of Christian Philosophers: v. 24 (2007) to present

The Philosophical Forum: v. (1968) to v. 33 (2002)

American Journal of Theology & Philosophy: v. 29 (2008) to present

 

Requesting Materials from Other Libraries

      InterLibrary Loan

  • Articles, books and other materials can be requested from InterLibrary Loan.
  • Books requested via InterLibrary Loan may take a minumum of 7-10 business days.
  • Loan periods and renewal availability varies depending on the participating libraries.
  • Overdue fines will apply.

Click Here for ILL Request Form

 

Ask a Librarian

Chat with a librarian here! 

You can also connect via text message at 619-592-8884 or by email.