LibGuides: History and Political Science Research Guide: Articles and Databases

Library Databases

Ryan Library databases are subscriptions provided to the PLNU community for online access to journal and magazine articles and/or citations.

Recommended databases for History and Political Science students include:

Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials - Online collection of major religion and theology journals.
Academic Search Premier - Multi-disciplinary database
CIAO - A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs
Cambridge Histories Online - Full-text version of over 250 volumes from Cambridge University Press
Films on Demand - This video database provides 24/7 access to 21,000+ complete videos and 240,000+ video segments on a variety of topics. Videos can be embedded into e-class and include public performance rights.
Historical Statistics of the United States - Statistics from the late 1700s to the present
Humanities Full Text - Comprehensive humanities resource, with much full-text content
JSTOR - With Journal STORage you access full-text articles in the disciplines of History and Political Science
Nexus Uni - Multi-disciplinary database, with much full-text content
Oxford Reference Online - Full-text dictionaries, language references, and reference works
Social Sciences Full Text - Standard resource, with full text content of over 200 journals.
Women and Social Movements - Resource for USA women's history.

Requesting Materials from Other Libraries

Use this option when requesting items that are not available at Ryan Library:

InterLibrary Loan

Articles, books, and other materials can be requested from InterLibrary Loan.

***Ebooks are rarely available via InterLibrary Loan*** (Licensing restrictions limit the sharing of digital resources.)

Ebook chapters may be more readily obtained than the entire book. Keep this in mind when placing requests and be specific about chapters/page numbers when possible.
Books requested via InterLibrary Loan take a minimum of 7-10 business days to receive.
Loan periods and renewal availability vary depending on the participating libraries.
Overdue fines will apply.

Click Here for ILL Request Form

Please select either ARTICLE or BOOK when placing your request.

Searching Library Databases for Articles and eBooks

This video demonstrates how to find ebooks and journal articles through library databases. For the best quality, open the video in YouTube. The first half of the video covers InterLibrary Loan and limiting your search to ebooks in the Library's catalog, WorldCat. The second half of the video starting at about 4 minutes and 30 seconds covers how to find journal articles using the Articles search and the JSTOR databases.

If you have any questions, please email librarian Robin Lang.

Google Scholar

Use Google Scholar to access citations to and some full-text of academic articles. Use Interlibrary Loan to request the full article, if needed. NOTE: You will have access to many more full-text articles when searching Google Scholar while on campus at PLNU. When off campus, you will have access to fewer full-text articles.