Skip to Main Content

History and Political Science Research Guide: Introduction

A research guide to access hard-copy and online resources. "We are all inseparable from our times. If you don't know history, it is as if you were born yesterday." Howard Zinn, Historian

Ask a Librarian

Chat live with a PLNU librarian. 
Chat below or text 619-592-8884
Is chat offline?
Email your question!

Chicago Citation Style

The Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide website provides information and examples for both Chicago Style citation systems: notes-bibliography and author-date.

NOTE: History classes use the notes-bibliography version of Chicago style and political science classes use the author-date style.

APSA Citation Style

Visit this site for a PDF copy of the American Political Science Association's Style Manual: 

Find Books, Articles and More

Welcome to Ryan Library’s History & Political Science Research Guide! If you have further questions, contact librarian Robin Lang, visit the Research Help Desk in Ryan Library, or chat with a librarian online using the Ask a Librarian box.

Use this guide to locate:

Follow the tabs above from left to right as you progress into your research topic.

  

Accessing Newspapers

We subscribe to the Newspaper Source database, which provides full text to more than 40 U.S. & international newspapers and Nexis Uni. If you are interested in browsing the current day's newspaper, use the newspapers website. Then if you find an article you'd like to read but are hitting a paywall, check to see if Ryan Library provides access to the article through one of our databases. You can determine which database provides a newspaper, by typing in the name of the newspaper in the Journals Directory search box. If we don't provide access to the article you need, you can request a copy through InterLibrary Loan. If you have any questions, please email librarian Robin Lang at rlang@pointloma.edu

If you have a specific newspaper article, topic, or author in mind, consider using a Library database to access the article if it's not available free online. Here's a list of a few of the specific newspapers we subscribe to through Library databases:

  1. The New York Times (1980-present)
  2. The Washington Post (1977-present)
  3. The New Yorker (2002-present)
  4. The Atlantic Monthly (1993-present)
  5. The Wall Street Journal (1984-present)
  6. The Los Angeles Times (6 months ago-present)
  7. The San Diego Union-Tribune (2002-January 2019)

Research Guides for Specific History and Political Science Courses

These research guides highlight high quality sources, including reference books, print books, e-books, print journals, online journals in library databases, primary sources, and websites appropriate for history-related or political science-related research. If you have research questions, please contact librarian Robin Lang at rlang@pointloma.edu.

California History (HIS3070): libguides.pointloma.edu/CAhistory

Doing History (HIS2070): libguides.pointloma.edu/HIS2070

Political Science Research Scope and Methods (POL2070):  libguides.pointloma.edu/POL2070

Racial Covenants

This 15 minute video covers racial covenants and other discriminatory housing practices in San Diego County.