History and Political Science Research Guide: Introduction

Chat below or text 619-592-8884

The Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide(opens in a new tab) website provides information and examples for both Chicago Style citation systems: notes-bibliography and author-date.

Visit this site for a PDF copy of the American Political Science Association's Style Manual: 

Welcome to Ryan Library’s History & Political Science Research Guide! If you have further questions, contact librarian Robin Lang, visit the Research Help Desk in Ryan Library, or chat with a librarian online using the Ask a Librarian box.

Use this guide to locate:

• Reference Sources(opens in a new tab)
• Books (opens in a new tab)                                                                         
• Articles and Databases(opens in a new tab)
• Quality Internet Resources(opens in a new tab)

Follow the tabs above from left to right as you progress into your research topic.

Ryan Library now provides access to the full New York times app. For more information on creating an account, visit The New York Times at Ryan Library LibGuide(opens in a new tab)(opens in a new tab). 

We subscribe to the Newspaper Source database(opens in a new tab), which provides full text to more than 40 U.S. & international newspapers and Nexis Uni(opens in a new tab). If you are interested in browsing the current day's newspaper, use the newspapers website. Then if you find an article you'd like to read but are hitting a paywall, check to see if Ryan Library provides access to the article through one of our databases. You can determine which database provides a newspaper, by typing in the name of the newspaper in the Journals Directory search box(opens in a new tab). If we don't provide access to the article you need, you can request a copy through InterLibrary Loan(opens in a new tab). If you have any questions, please email librarian Robin Lang.

If you have a specific newspaper article, topic, or author in mind, consider using a Library database to access the article if it's not available free online. Here's a list of a few of the specific newspapers we subscribe to through Library databases:

1. The Washington Post(opens in a new tab) (1977-present)
2. The New Yorker(opens in a new tab) (2002-present)
3. The Atlantic Monthly(opens in a new tab) (1993-present)
4. The Wall Street Journal(opens in a new tab) (1984-present)
5. The Los Angeles Times(opens in a new tab) (6 months ago-present)
6. The San Diego Union-Tribune(opens in a new tab) (2002-January 2019)

These research guides highlight high quality sources, including reference books, print books, e-books, print journals, online journals in library databases, primary sources, and websites appropriate for history-related or political science-related research. If you have research questions, please contact librarian Robin Lang.

California History (HIS3070): View CAhistory LibGuide(opens in a new tab)

Doing History (HIS2070): View HIS2070 LibGuide(opens in a new tab)

Political Science Scope & Methods (POL2070): View POL2070 LibGuide(opens in a new tab)

This 15 minute video covers racial covenants and other discriminatory housing practices in San Diego County.