Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COM 1000: Background Info

This guide supports the work of students in COM 1000, Principles of Human Communication

Brief Background - Specialized Encyclopedias

Ryan Library provides specialized encyclopedias in the library and online. These e-books provide concise background on a variety of communication-related topics:

Extensive Background - Find Books

WorldCat is the tool you need to locate books and much more. 

With one search, you will find:

  • Books and Media materials at PLNU
  • ebooks available through PLNU
  • Articles from some of our most-used databases
  • Books available for InterLibrary Loan

A few things you should know:

  • For books in Ryan Library, the checkout period is 3 weeks, with an option to renew for 3 more weeks.
  • For books borrowed through InterLibrary Loan, checkout period varies based on the lending library.
  • Renew books online by logging in and using the "My Library Account" link in the upper right of the screen.

Citation Help

Need help citing a book or an article from a specialized encyclopedia?  Check out our Citation Help page.

More Variety - eBooks

Ryan Library subscribes to thousands of eBooks through two ebook collections:

  1. ebrary: This collection provides access to over 140,000 books. It is integrated into WorldCat, or may be searched separately using ebrary link.
  2. EBSCO ebooks: This collection provides full-text access to hundreds of digital version of books on a variety of subjects.

Take a look at these examples!