Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Review the online resources below to see how they can enrich your research.
19: Interdisciplinary Studies in the Long Nineteenth Century
This scholarly, refereed web journal explores interdisciplinary study of the long nineteenth century.
American Journalism Review (AJR)
Offers weekly articles reviewing the current state of affairs in US journalism and provides more than 8,000 links to magazines, broadcasters, news services, and newspapers around the US and the world.
Annotated Bibliography Help
Part of the Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue, this page provides descriptions and examples of annotated bibliographies.
Center for Applied Linguistics
Provides extensive resources regarding language and culture.
International Children's Digital Library
The International Children's Digital Library Foundation supports the world's children in becoming effective members of the global community. . . by making the best in children's literature available online free of charge.
Mr. William Shakespeare and the Internet
An annotated guide to the scholarly Shakespeare resources available online, including a Shakespeare timeline.
Online Literary Criticism Collection
Contains critical and biographical websites about authors and their works, browseable by author, title, nationality, or literary period.
This scholarly, refereed website is devoted to the study of Romantic-period literature and culture.
ViVa Bibliography of Women's History
Indexes articles on women's history and gender issues from numerous American and international journals.
Voice of the Shuttle
An extensive database of resources on literary theory.
Words Without Borders
Words Without Borders is an online magazine that promotes and provides translation of international literature. The site also provides a blog, discussion forum, and newsletter.
These principles of web source evalution are drawn from The St. Martin's Handbook, 8th edition (p. 218-219):
- Does the site or document have an author? What are the author's credentials? Why should you trust this author as an expert?
- Who sponsors or publishes the source? What evidence demonstrates that the sponsor or publisher is credible? What purpose or perspective does the sponsor seem to promote?
- How recently was the information posted or modified? Could it be outdated or obsolete?
- How do you know that the information itself is trustworthy? Are there links to other sites or sources to support factual claims?
Not finding what you need?
Try one of these options: