Skip to Main Content

Kinesiology: Articles

Find Articles

Ryan Library subscribes to over 80 Reference Databases. These subscription-based resources are provided to the PLNU community for online access to journal and magazine articles and/or citations. Sign in with your usual PLNU username and password.

For Kinesiology research, try these:

Review the A-Z databases list to see all PLNU databases, or look at ALL Kinesiology-related databases.

Accessing Full Text of Articles

InterLibrary Loan allows members of the PLNU community to request articles from another library.

Before you request an article, complete the following steps (in this order) to verify that the article is not available at PLNU:

  1. Find out if the journal is full text in one of our databases. 
  2. Find out if the journal (hard copy) is located in Ryan Library. 
  3. Use InterLibrary Loan to request the article. 

Do you work or attend classes at a PLNU location other than the main campus? Use the Interlibrary Loan form to request books or articles from PLNU's Ryan Library. 

Scholarly vs. Popular Articles

The Basics of Scholarly Research

Um... could you remind me about scholarly sources?

  1. Empirical studies require actual and objective observation or experimentation.
  2. Articles that describe empirical studies are published in academic journals or research monographs.
  3. Many of these publications are peer-reviewed, meaning that experts screened each chapter or article prior to publication.

Scholarly research articles usually have 5 main sections plus a list of references:

  • Abstract/Introduction
  • Review of the literature
  • Methodology
  • Results
  • Discussion and/or conclusion

Peer Review in a Nutshell

Primary vs. Secondary Sources

Primary Sources serve as a record of first-hand experience, including the collection and analysis of data. Just like diaries share an author's personal life, research articles describe the author's own studies or other work. 

Secondary Sources report, describe, or analyze someone else's original work without conducting additional data collection or analysis of new information. Books and articles that present overviews or summaries of previous research are usually secondary sources.