Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Credible Image Sources Online
Credo Reference: Image Search
Use the Google Image Search or just search for a keyword. Quickly scan your results for quality websites from institutions like museums.
These websites provide access to images of popular and well known works of art:
AICT - Art Images for College Teaching
AICT is a personal, non-profit project of its author, art historian and visual resources curator Allan T. Kohl. AICT is intended primarily to disseminate images of art and architectural works in the public domain on a free-access, free-use basis to all levels of the educational community, as well as to the public at large.
Downloadable images from the Associated Press archive, from 1840 to the present.
British Museum Online Collection Database
There are over one million digital images of objects in the collection of the British Museum.
Flickr: The Commons
An online public photography archives.
Getty Search Gateway
The Getty Search Gateway allows users to search across several of the Getty repositories, including collections databases, library catalogs, collection inventories, and archival finding aids. Once you type in a search term, you can limit results to photographs, visual material, sculptures, drawings, paintings, decorative arts, mixed material, maps, architecture, or prints.
Google Art Project
Google Art Project work with cultural institutions and artists around the world to preserve and bring the world’s art and culture online. Provides access to museums' digital collections worldwide. Includes incredible zoom levels that work like Google Maps "street view."
Comprehensive web image collection. Includes "LIFE" magazine photo archive.
Great Buildings Collection Online
Collected and maintained by the editors of Architecture Week, this searchable website features photographs, architectural drawings, 3D models and other information about buildings from around the world. Both historic and contemporary structures are included.
Image Collection and Online Art
Lists links to online image collections. Sponsored by the University of Michigan.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity.
Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA) Online Collections
The Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA) Online Collections site allows visitors to quickly search and sort images and information based on the user’s individual preferences, ultimately providing quick and easy access to LACMA’s encyclopedic collection. In addition, visitors can now download well over 20,000 high-quality images of public domain artworks from LACMA’s permanent collection without restriction on use.
Metropolitan Museum of Art collection database
The Met Collection Database is a searchable database of artworks and related materials from the permanent collection of the Metropolitan Museum of Art.
National Geographic Fine Art Galleries
National Geographic Fine Art Galleries presents fine art photography.
New York Public Library Digital Gallery
NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
Visual Resources Center Collections in the Online Archive of California
The Online Archive of California Visual Resources Center collection provides a portion of their collections at the College of Environmental Design at the University of California, Berkeley. Images depicting architecture, landscapes, cities, and related material are included.
Web Gallery of Art
The Web Gallery of Art is a searchable database of European fine arts and architecture (3rd-19th centuries), currently containing over 49.500 reproductions. Artist biographies, commentaries, guided tours, period music, catalogue, free postcard and mobile services are provided.
The internationally recognized WorldImages database provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. It has just been selected by the Library of Congress for inclusion in its historic collection of Internet materials. It contains approximately 80,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery.