Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ryan Library Databases
The below databases contain articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers on art and design along with some exhibition procedings. These databases require your PLNU OneLogin:
- Academic Search Premier - A large interdisciplinary database contains much full-text content.
- ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) - This database functions as a bibliography and does not provide full-text, but does provide records and abstracts for works covering all art forms, including fine art, digital art, crafts, design and photography.
- Arts & Humanities Full Text -The database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture and Design.
- Design & Applied Arts Index (DAAI) - This database functions as a bibliography and does not provide full-text, but does provide records and abstracts for works covering all aspects of design and crafts, from textiles and ceramics to vehicle design, advertising and sustainability. Covers journal articles, exhibition reviews and news items from 1973 to the present.
- Films on Demand - This link leads directly to films on Art & Architecture.
- International Bibliography of Art (IBA) - Contains scholarly resources on Western art.
- JSTOR - Journal STORage is large, interdisciplinary full-text database. Click on the Advanced Search link and scroll down to Art & Art History and Arts.
- OmniFile Full Text Mega - This large interdisciplinary database contains much full-text content.
- Oxford Art Online - Access and search content of Grove Art Online and Oxford Art Reference. Quick User Guide for Oxford Art online.
Credo Reference: Art and Art History
Credo Reference helps you start your art research with reference resources in art history, biographies of artists, and vast image collections from the Bridgeman Archives.
Print and Online Magazines and Journals
The current editions of our print journals, magazines and newspapers are kept in the Reference Area. Back issues are located on the Lower Level of Ryan Library and are organized alphabetically.
Online Access: Check the title in the Journals Directory search on the Library's homepage to see if the Library provides online access through a database.
Print magazines and journals related to art and design available to browse are: