Art & Design Research Guide: Books

WorldCat is the tool you need to research books (and more). With one search, you will find:

• Books and media materials at PLNU
• ebooks available through PLNU
• Articles from some of our most-used databases
• Books available from other institutions through InterLibrary Loan

A few things you should know:

• For books found in Ryan Library, the check out period is 3 weeks, with an optional 3-week renewal.
• Renew books online by logging in and then selecting "My Library Account" in the upper right of the screen.

Below several print books from Ryan Library's reference collection are highlighted:

• Dictionary of Art - 34 volume set covering all aspects of the art world.
• Contemporary Women Artists - 3 volume set
• The Encyclopedia of Sculpture - 3 volume set
• The Photography Encyclopedia provides a comprehensive overview of all aspects of photography.

Reference books, encyclopedias and dictionaries, are kept on in the Reference area and are for in-house use only. Books on art and design that may be borrowed are located on the Upper Level of Ryan Library in the 700 to 779 call number range:

701: Art theory

709: Art History

720: Architecture

730: Sculpture, Ceramics, & Metalwork

740: Graphic Art

750: Painting

760: Print making

770: Photography and film

Ryan Library provides access to over 180,000 ebooks. 

• Oxford Art Online: provides online access to Grove Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists.
• Cambridge Histories Online: provides content on art history.
• ProQuest Ebook Central: This is the Library's largest ebook database. You search for ebooks here or in WorldCat.
• EBSCO eBook Collection: This is the Library's second largest ebook database. You search for ebooks here or in WorldCat.