Ryan Library subscribes to over 80 Reference Databases. These subscription-based resources are provided to the PLNU community for online access to journal and magazine articles and/or citations. Sign in with your usual PLNU username and password.
For Anatomy research, try these:
This clinical search engine allows users to quickly find high-quality research evidence to support practice or care. It also searches for images, videos, and patient education handouts.
Full-text systematic reviews consisting of Cochrane Methodology and Protocols dating to 2005. Updated as new evidence becomes available.
Review the A-Z databases list to see all PLNU databases.
Anatomy Learning Resources: Which are open?
This chart may be helpful in sifting through and understanding the licenses of the many resources available on the web. Chart and AnatomyTool site are developed in collaboration by O. Paul Gobée, Leiden University Medical Center, Netherlands.
"The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers." The MERLOT project was developed and grew out of a partnership and collaboration of universities including The University of Georgia System, Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education, University of North Carolina System, and the California State University System.
"OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum." Supported in part by the William and Flora Hewlett Foundation, ISKME, the Institute for the Study of Knowledge Management in Education, created OER Commons as part of the Foundation’s worldwide OER initiative.
"Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 97 different sources and contains 385,629 records.OASIS is being developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library."
Clinical Anatomy brought to you by UBC. Covers: Head & Neck, Thorax, Upper Limb, Pelvis, Anatomy Videos, Radiological Atlas, Anatomical Illustrations, UBC Anatomy Labs, Back & Core, Abdomen, Lower Limb, Embryology.
Functional Neuroanatomy brought to you by UBC. Covers: Regions of the Brain, Introduction to Neuroanatomy, Videos, Cross-Sections, Interactive Modules, 3D, Neuroanatomy Syllabus, Stroke Model, MRIs.
Aclands Video Atlas of Anatomy. Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy contains nearly 330 videos. It is comprised of 5 different volumes. 1 The Upper Extremity, 2 The Lower Extremity, 3 The Trunk, 4 The Head and Neck, 5 The Internal Organs.
"Digital Histology provides an open educational resource that combines a digital atlas with extensive descriptive text...Digital Histology, featuring on-demand labeling of structures and interactive quizzes with formative feedback, can be used by a diverse group of learners."
"Today's anatomy atlases are too expensive and too limited to serve everyone who needs them. Our open atlases aim to combine the collective expertise and resources of the world's medical experts into a more accurate and complete view of anatomy, available to anyone, anywhere, for free."
WISC-Online Learning Objects for Anatomy and Physiology
"Wisc-Online is a digital library of learning objects created by technical college faculty and multimedia developers. Fox Valley Technical College oversees the operation of Wisc-Online with guidance from the Wisc-Online Advisory Council." Learning objects are licensed under Creative Commons licenses.
Available under Creative Commons from Images and content are created by faculty, staff, and students at the University of Texas.
This collection covers thousands of years of health and medicine across different cultures.
Physiology simulations
Primary Sources serve as a record of first-hand experience, including the collection and analysis of data. Just like diaries share an author's personal life, research articles describe the author's own studies or other work.
Secondary Sources report, describe, or analyze someone else's original work without conducting additional data collection or analysis of new information. Books and articles that present overviews or summaries of previous research are usually secondary sources.