LibGuides: Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP): Using Databases

Finding Articles in Nursing

Ryan Library Databases are provided to the PLNU community for online access to journal and magazine articles and/or citations.

You will be asked to log in with your PLNU network information to access any of these databases.

Listed below are some recommended databases that might be of interest to Nursing students. However, you are encouraged to explore the other Ryan Library databases as well.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing full text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles.
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles.

CINAHL
more...less...
Premier tool for searching the nursing and allied health literature
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
more...less...
Full-text systematic reviews consisting of Cochrane Methodology and Protocols dating to 2005. Updated as new evidence becomes available
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
more...less...
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.

MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE with Full Text provides full-text access to over 1,450 scholarly journals on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences.
MEDLINE with Full Text provides full-text access to over 1,450 scholarly journals on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. This database includes content of interest to students in nursing, biology, chemistry, education, family & consumer sciences, kinesiology, psychology, sociology and social work, and more.
Ovid Nursing Journals This link opens in a new window
This database searches 14 major nursing journals with full-text coverage from the 1990s to the current issue. Ovid Nursing Journals includes AJN - American Journal of Nursing, Journal of Christian Nursing, Nurse Educator, and 11 others. Journals can be searched as a set or individually.
This database searches 14 major nursing journals with full-text coverage from the 1990s to the current issue. Ovid Nursing Journals includes AJN - American Journal of Nursing, Journal of Christian Nursing, Nurse Educator, and 11 others. Journals can be searched as a set or individually.

ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source
more...less...
Search full-text journals and dissertations in ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source alongside Systematic Reviews, Evidence Summaries, and Best Practice Information Sheets from the renowned Joanna Briggs Institute.
PsycArticles
more...less...
This resource provides complete access to the full text of nearly 80 scholarly journals in psychology and related fields, ranging from education, to nursing, to business, to neuroscience. It includes all of the American Psychological Association (APA) journals, with coverage ranging from 1894 to the present.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This database contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s.
This database, the American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource, contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, with journal coverage from around 2,500 periodicals dating as far back as the 1800s.

Science Direct
more...less...
This database offers more than a quarter of the world's scientific, medical and technical information online. This full-text resource contains over 2,000 peer-reviewed journals, hundreds of book series, handbooks and reference works.

Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
The world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
This full-text database boasts one of the largest archives of its kind with content dating back to 1799 and over 1.5 million articles of scientific and scholarly research.

Scholarly VS. Popular Articles

Click on Journal Title below:

Accounts of Chemical Research	Environmental Science & Technology	Journal of Organic Chemistry
Analytical Chemistry	Inorganic Chemistry	The Journal of Physical Chemistry A
Biochemistry	Industrial & Engineering Chemical Research	The Journal of Physical Chemistry B
Bioconjugate Chemistry	Journal of Agricultural & Food Chemistry	Journal of the American Chemical Society
Biotechnology Progress	Journal of Chemical & Engineering Data	Langmuir
Chemical Research in Toxicology	Journal of Chemical Education	Macromolecules
Chemical Reviews	Journal of Chemical Information & Modeling	Organic Process Research & Development
Chemistry of Materials	Journal of Medicinal Chemistry	Organometallics
Energy & Fuels	Journal of Natural Products

Requesting Materials from Other Libraries

Use this option when requesting items that are not available at Ryan Library:

InterLibrary Loan

Articles, books, and other materials can be requested from InterLibrary Loan.

***Ebooks are rarely available via InterLibrary Loan*** (Licensing restrictions limit the sharing of digital resources.)

Ebook chapters may be more readily obtained than the entire book. Keep this in mind when placing requests and be specific about chapters/page numbers when possible.
Books requested via InterLibrary Loan take a minimum of 7-10 business days to receive.
Loan periods and renewal availability vary depending on the participating libraries.
Overdue fines will apply.

Click Here for ILL Request Form

Please select either ARTICLE or BOOK when placing your request.