Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ryan Library Databases
Ryan Library Databases are provided to the PLNU community for online access to journal and magazine articles and/or citations.
You will be asked to log in with your PLNU network information to access any of these databases.
Listed below are some recommended databases that might be of interest to Education students. However, you are encouraged to explore the other Ryan Library databases as well.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Try these specialized tools for different and scholarly results.
History Matters serves as a gateway to web resources and offers other useful materials for teaching U.S. history.
JURN is a unique search tool which helps you find free academic articles and books. JURN harnesses all the power of Google, but focuses your search through a hand-crafted and curated index. Established in 2009 to comprehensively cover the arts and humanities, in 2014 JURN expanded in scope. JURN now also covers selected university fulltext repositories and many additional ejournals in science, biomedical, business and law. In 2015/6 JURN expanded again, adding over 600 ejournals on aspects of the natural world.
MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.
Theory into Practice Database
This database contains descriptions of over 50 theories relevant to human learning and instruction.
Need help citing an article? Check out the Citation Help page on the Ryan Library website.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
Scholarly vs. Popular Articles
Requesting Articles from Other Libraries