HIS2070: Doing History: Websites

Use the Advanced Search or use these search limiters, which can be combined, directly in the basic search window

• Use quotation marks around phrases or two words or more ("Six Day War" and "Egyptian air force")
• Use "site:" to search a particular website or domain (ex: "site:nytimes.com" ; "site:.gov" ; "site:il")
• Limit by date range: “before:YYYY-MM-DD” and “after:YYYY-MM-DD”
• Use Cmmd/Cntl F to quickly keyword search a particular webpage or online document
• Use "-" (the minus sign) to eliminate words
• Use "*" (the asterisk) as a wildcard character to search for a root word and all its derivatives (ex: "Palesti*" to retrieve both "Palestine" and "Palestinian")

Some 20th century newspapers have been digitized and are freely available online and some require subscriptions or provide incomplete coverage.

Library Databases:

• Newspaper Source: Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers
• Nexis Un: TIP: From the search box, choose from the dropdown-->News-->Newspapers

Newspapers with English Language Editions in Israel-Palestine (limited archival access)

The Jerusalem Post

• The Jerusalem Post, originally the The Palestine Post, offers digitized archives that cover significant historical events in the region from the British Mandate period to the present. Some historical issues are freely accessible.

Haaretz (English Edition)

• Haaretz is a major Israeli newspaper with an English edition. Historical articles are available, providing insights into Israeli politics and society from the 20th century. Free access to some older articles is available.

The Arab News (English Edition)

• Although primarily focused on broader Middle Eastern news, The Arab News includes historical English-language articles relevant to Palestinian and regional events. Some archives available.

National Archives

• Records relating to various foreign policy issues from the Department of State and other government agencies
• Visit the U.S. Foreign Affairs Research website: https://www.archives.gov/research/foreign-policy
• Use the search box on the top right of the website

Foreign Affairs (trade magazine)

Ryan Library has this magazine in print and online through our databases; it's also available freely online:

Print:

1. Lower Level (titles are organized alphabetically): v. 14 (1936)  - v. 97 (2018), v. 18 is missing

Online:

1. Academic Search Premier database: 1922 - present (click on "search within this publication" and add "AND" plus your keyword; limit by publication date); ex: 
2. Foreign Affairs website: keyword search your topic and limit by publication date, region, category, author, or topic

Foreign Relations of the United States (book series)

• This is a book series published by Office of the Historian in the United States Department of State
• Ryan Library has print copies from 1935—1952 at call # 327.73 U58f on the Middle Level, but before you pull them off the shelf, you can keyword search digital copies online through the University of Wisconsin (1861-1960)
  • Once in the UW website, scroll down to the box on the right labeled "Search within text" and type in your keyword(s)
  • The State Department website allows you to browse Foreign Relations of the United States by year/presidential administration
    • Choose a president, click on the hyperlinked text "view and search within the available documents" and type in your keyword(s) in the search box

Institutional and Government Archives

The Library of Congress - Digital Collections

• Includes various collections with documents related to Middle Eastern history. Search using terms related to Palestine and Israel.

  • Chronicling America (USA): A project by the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities providing access to millions of pages from historic American newspapers from 1789 to 1963.

Palestinian Academic Society for the Study of International Affairs (PASSIA)

• PASSIA provides access to various historical documents and reports, including some English-language newspaper articles related to Palestinian history.

Institute for Palestine Studies (IPS)

• IPS offers digitized historical documents, including English-language newspaper articles related to Palestine.

The National Library of Israel

• This library offers digitized newspapers, including those in English, covering historical periods relevant to Israel and Palestine.

The Israel State Archives

• Contains a variety of documents and publications related to Israeli history, including digitized newspapers and periodicals.

Yad Vashem Archives (World Holocaust Remembrance Center)

• Contains documents related to the Holocaust and the impact on the Jewish community, including the establishment of Israel.

The United Nations Digital Library

• Offers access to UN documents, resolutions, and reports concerning Palestine and Israel. Use the search function to find specific documents.

The Central Zionist Archives

• Includes documents related to the Zionist movement and early Israeli history. Includes letters, meeting minutes, and other historical records.

---

University Archives

The Hebrew University of Jerusalem Digital Library

• Includes a variety of historical documents, including newspapers and periodicals related to Israel and the Middle East. Some materials are digitized and freely accessible.

Harvard University Library - Middle East Collection

• Includes historical documents and primary sources on the history of Palestine and Israel.

Middle East Library at Princeton University

• Home to one of the most significant North American collections of pre-modern and modern Near Eastern materials