Skip to main content

COM 100: Scholarly Info

This guide supports the work of students in COM 100, Principles of Human Communication

Scholarly Sources - Journal Articles

Ryan Library subscribes to over 80 Reference Databases. These subscription resources include articles and citations from a variety of sources, including scholarly journals.

For the most extensive coverage, try a general database and restrict your search to scholarly or peer-reviewed sources. These are the most frequently used general databases:

For articles that relate to a specific subject area, search a more targeted database:

Specific databases are available for many additional subject areas. Ask a librarian for recommendations.

From Citations to Articles

ILLiad

allows members of the PLNU community to request articles from another library.

 

Before you request an article, complete these steps:

  1. Find out if the journal is full text in one of our databases. 
  2. Find out if the journal (hard copy) is in the library. 
    • Once the database opens, search for the name of your journal in quotation marks.
  3. Request the article from another library via ILLiad.
    • If you have never used ILLiad before, click on First Time Users button. 
    • ILLiad works best in Mozilla Firefox and Safari browsers.

ILLiad Logon


First and Last Name or previously selected Username

PLNU 8-digit ID

Questions or problems logging in? Contact InterLibrary Loan at ILL@pointloma.edu.

Try an Article Search (EBSCOhost)

    Find books, media, select articles and more:
     

  Go to:  Advanced Search   |   Course Reserves    
My Library Account
    |   Camino    

Trouble logging in?    



   Search all EBSCO Databases:
 

 See all PLNU Ryan Library Databases   |  Trouble logging in?


Looking for the full-text of a specific article? Use the box to search for the title of the journal containing your article:



  THEN: If you don't find the journal by using the search box above: 
1. Check to see if we have the printed journal in Ryan Library (Hint: use the Title Search).

2. Request the article through ILLiad.
   
This Ryan Library database has films in all disciplines:

Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) vs. Popular Periodicals

This video from Vanderbilt University explains it well: