LibGuides: MUH 3032 Music History and Literature II: Home

Videos to Help You Complete Your Assignment

Use the videos below to help you complete the Library Research Assignment.

If you have questions or need help, email Julie Sweeney.

Getting Started

Watch this video before you start your assignment.

Use this link to open the Library Research Assignment. Click on the FILE menu and select MAKE A COPY. You will not be able to edit the assignment until you have made your own copy of it.

Finding eBooks

This video demonstrates how to find ebooks through Ryan Library.

This link will take you to the Ryan Library Homepage to begin your search.

Oxford Music Online/New Grove Dictionaries

This video demonstrates how to use the Oxford Music Online database to search for material from Grove, an important music research source. Use this link to open Oxford Music Online.

Scholarly Journal Articles

This video demonstrates how to search for scholarly journal articles. Select databases from the "Ryan Library Databases for Music Sources" box.

Ryan Library Databases for Music Sources

Ryan Library Databases are subscriptions provided to the PLNU community for online access to journal and magazine articles and/or citations.

You will be asked to log in with your PLNU network information to access any of these databases.

Some recommended databases for Music students include:

Music Periodicals Database (formerly International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text (IIMP)) : Covers the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database (formerly International Index to Performing Arts Full Text (IIPA)): This database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 260 international periodicals, plus full text for more than 100 of the indexed journals.
JSTOR: This multi-disciplinary database offers full-text access to more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources, including 75 music-related journals. To limit your search to music journals only, choose Advanced Search, then scroll down and choose Music.
IPA Source: The International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) contains transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias, art song texts and MP3 recordings.
Oxford Music Online (including Grove's): This database is comprised of the complete full-text content of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.
Naxos Music Library: This database is an online listening library of classical music available online offering over 500,000 tracks of Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk, and Chinese music. Search for works by composer, artist, period, year of composition, instrument or genre.
Academic Search Premier: This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles.
Humanities Full Text: This database provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.