Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIS2070: Doing History: Primary Sources, Archives and Websites

A research guide for Dr. Bill Wood's Doing History course.

The Other Sheep: Available Online and In Print

The Other Sheep was a monthly journal devoted to the Foreign Missionary interests of the Church of the Nazarene. Ryan Library provides print periodicals for the titles and date ranges listed below. All periodicals are organized alphabetically by title and located on the Lower Level of Ryan Library:

Nazarene Missionary journal has changed names over the years:

Other Sheep: 1913-1974 (v. 1-61)

World Mission: 1974-1998 (v. 1-24)

Holiness Today: 1999-2019 (v. 1-21)

NOTE: Several indices have been created for The Other Sheep, though they are not comprehensive. See this Google Drive to find indices for years 1913-1918 and 1953-1974. (The 1953-1974 index is attached at the bottom of this box.)

The Wesleyan Holiness Digital Library (WHDL) provides global online access to a wealth of Wesleyan-Holiness resources, including archival materials. WHDL was initiated by the global Church of the Nazarene and serves as the institutional repository for Nazarene universities. 


The WHDL contains some digital copies of issues from 1931 to 1951 of The Other Sheep. (Note: Click on 'Download PDF' to read online or actually download. When dowloaded, you can keyword search the downloaded PDF using the Cntl+F shortcut for PCs or Cmmd+F for Macs.)


Herald of Holiness (general publication of the Nazarene denomination; later changed names to Holiness Today): sporadic digitized coverage between 1953-1977:

19th-Century Books and Journals

First check Ryan Library's catalog, WorldCat (see previous tab), to find books by or about your missionary. Then check online. The below resources freely provide books and/or journals from the 19th century. Search for your missionary's name, denomination, mission alliance, or region in each.

Yale University Day Missions Collection

The Day Missions Collection at Yale University focuses on institutional histories, missionary biography, the annual reports of missionary societies, periodicals, and works prepared by missionaries for the use of the peoples of mission fields, as well as related literature in areas such as ethnology, geography, comparative religions, and linguistics. It includes report, periodicals, and images. Search these resources once you know your missionary's mission alliance/denomination and region or search by specific citation.

Primary Sources Online: Open Access

Keyword search for your missionary's name, denomination, and/or region. Try alternate spellings, if needed.