Skip to main content

Music Research: Citing Music Sources

Research Guide for Music

Citing Music Sources in Chicago/Turabian Style

See the OWL Purdue Chicago Style website.

For extra examples of Turabian Chicago style, see the Depauw University Library Music Citation guide.

Example Citations

NOTE: The second and subsequent lines of each citation should be indented. They are not indented in this guide due to formatting restrictions.

1.  How do you cite an entry from Grove's Online? 

(Hint: The Grove's Database's "Cite" button does not give correct Chicago information.)

Bibliography

Carter, Tim and Geoffrey Chew. "Monteverdi, Claudio." Grove Music Online. Edited by Deane Root. Accessed September 16, 2016. http://www.oxfordmusiconline.com.pointloma.idm.oclc.org/subscriber/article/grove/music/44352.

Footnote

Tim Carter and Geoffrey Chew, “Monteverdi, Claudio,” Grove Music Online, ed. Deane Root, accessed September 16, 2016, http://www.oxfordmusiconline.com.pointloma.idm.oclc.org/subscriber/article/grove/music/44352.

 

2. How do you cite an entry from Grove's in Print? 

Bibliography

Carter, Tim and Geoffrey Chew. "Monteverdi, Claudio." The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. Edited by Stanley Sadie and J. Tyrrell. London: Macmillan, 2001. xvii: 29.

Footnote

Tim Carter and Geoffrey Chew. "Monteverdi, Claudio." The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, eds. Stanley Sadie and J. Tyrrell (London: Macmillan, 2001), xvii: 29.

 

3.  How do you cite a recording of a performance found in Naxos Music Library?

(Hint: Typical order of citation components: composer and work, essential performers, date, format. You may choose to list the performer first, particularly if the performer is performing works from multiple composers.)

Bibliography

Handel, George Frederic. “Part II: Hallelujah (Chorus)” Handel: Messiah (Highlights). Warner Classics – Parlophone 0724357401159, 2000. mp3 Accessed September 16, 2016. http://pointloma.naxosmusiclibrary.com.pointloma.idm.oclc.org/stream.asps=139307%2Fplnunmlpd07%2Fqn6388%5F015.

Footnote

George Frederic Handel, “Part II: Hallelujah (Chorus)” Handel: Messiah (Highlights). Warner Classics – Parlophone 0724357401159, 2000, mp3 Accessed September 16, 2016, http://pointloma.naxosmusiclibrary.com.pointloma.idm.oclc.org/stream.asps=139307%2Fplnunmlpd07%2Fqn6388%5F015.

 

4.  How do you cite a music score out of an anthology?

(Hint: The date after the title is the date the composition was written.)

Bibliography

Lully, Jean-Baptiste. "Armide, Tragedie en 5 Actes et un Prologue." 1686. Norton Anthology of Western Music. Edited by Claude V. Palisca. 1, 385-394. New York: Norton, 1988.

Footnote

Jean-Baptiste Lully. "Armide, Tragedie en 5 Actes et un Prologue," 1686, Norton Anthology of Western Music, ed. Claude V. Palisca (New York: Norton, 1988): 1, 385-394.

 

5.  How do you cite an article found in full-text in a database such as International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP)?

(Hint: You do not need to list the database name. If there is a doi, use that. If there is no doi, use a permalink or document link. If there are is no doi, no permalinkn or document link, use the url form the top of the browser window.)

Bibliography

Wollston, Silas. "New Light on Purcell's Early Overtures." Early Music 37 no. 4 (November 2009): 647-55. Accessed September 16, 2016. http://search.proquest.com.pointloma.idm.oclc.org/docview/753575465?accountid=13223.

Footnote

Wollston, Silas. "New Light on Purcell's Early Overtures." Early Music 37 no. 4 (November 2009): 647-55, accessed September 16, 2016, http://search.proquest.com.pointloma.idm.oclc.org/docview/753575465?accountid=13223.

MLA and APA Citation Help

For more information on MLA and APA citation styles, visit the library's Citation Help page.

What is Endnote Web?

EndNote Web is a web-based reference management software that allows you to collect references into your personal account. You can use EndNote Web to organize your references for citing in papers.


Endnote Web enables you to:

  • Collect references from a wide variety of online sources via online search, importing from research databases,or typing the references manually
  • Stores up to 10,000 references in your library
  • Share references from other Endnote Web users for collaboration
  • Cite While You Write in Microsoft Word to insert references and format papers instantly


Want to know more?  Click here.

Ask a Librarian

Chat with a librarian here! 

You can also connect via text message at 619-592-8884 or by email.

Chicago Style Resources

Both of these books are available in the Reference Area of Ryan Library.