Skip to main content

SOC 201 Cultural Anthropology Research Guide: Find Articles

The purpose of this guide to to help students in Dr. Jamie Gate's SOC 201 class with their assignments.

Ryan Library Databases

 Ryan Library Databases are subscriptions provided to the PLNU community for online access to journal and magazine articles and/or citations.

You will be asked to log in with your PLNU network information to access any of these databases.

Some recommended databases for Cultural Anthropology students include:

Citation Help

Need help citing an article?  Check out the Citation Help page on the Ryan Library website.

Guidelines and examples of annotated bibliographies

See the OWL website for guidelines and examples pertaining to quality annotated bibliographies.

Online Writing Lab: Annotated Bibliographies

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.

Find Peer-Reviewed Articles

Most of the Article Databases at Ryan Library have an easy way for you to locate "Peer-Reviewed" articles.

Here's what you do:

  1. Go to the Advanced Search of whatever database you are using.
  2. In the search boxes, put in keywords relating to your topic.
  3. There should be a box that says something like "Peer-Reviewed" or "Scholarly."  Check that box.

The results should be articles on your topic that are from peer-reviewed sources.

Requesting Articles from Other Libraries

You may request articles that are not available at Ryan Library from other libraries.

Click Here to Request Articles