Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hover the cursor over the info icon for a description of the web site. Several of these websites provide digitized primary sources.
(The Pacific Leatherback Sea Turtle and the state fish California Golden Trout.)
A free refereed online media publication dedicated to social and cultural issues in California. This website evolved from Boom: A Journal of California, a quarterly journal that was published by University of California Press for six volumes from 2011 through 2016. An archive of past issues can be found at boom.ucpress.edu.
California Digital Archives
This site, maintained by the CA Secretary of State, provides access to a variety of digitized original sources related to state history, including photographs, specimens, memoirs, advertising, government documents, and more. Resources are featured as part of collections and exhibits.
San Diego History Center.
California Light and Sound
Historical archival materials from California Revealed in partnership with over 200 libraries, archives and museums across the state.
California State Archives: Audiovisual and Cartographic Records
This collection is part of the CA State Archives includes 240 films and audio recordings. Keyword search or browse by topic.
California State Library: Additional Research Resources
Staff of the Library have selected these particular sites as convenient sources of information to further its mission to serve the information needs of all California citizens.
California State Library: Online Collections
Includes exhibits you can visit through this website, and searchable catalogs of historic California art work, prints, documents, and photographs.
Library of Congress: Early California History: An Overview
Covers the dramatic decades between the Gold Rush and the turn of the twentieth century. It captures the pioneer experience; encounters between Anglo-Americans and the diverse peoples who had preceded them; the transformation of the land by mining, ranching, agriculture, and urban development; the often-turbulent growth of communities and cities; and California's emergence as both a state and a place of uniquely American dreams.
Online Archive of California
The OAC provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California campuses.
San Diego History Center
Located in San Diego's Balboa Park, it maintains 45 million documents: public and architectural records, books, maps, scrapbooks, manuscripts, newspapers, ephemera, diaries and the Oral History Collection. The extensive historic Photograph Collection has over 2 ½ million images. Some of these sources are available online. Their Research Archives are available to student researchers. For their walk-in hours or for an appointment, visit their website.
Two Years Before the Mast - ebook
This memoir, written by Richard Henry Dana, Jr., chronicles Dana's voyage up the West Coast between 1834 and 1836.
The Works of Hubert Howe Bancroft - ebooks
Bancroft was a historian active in the late 19th century who published several works on California. Scroll down to volumes 18 through 22 on California.
California as I Saw It: First-Person Narratives of California's Early Years, 1849 to 1900
This collection managed by the Library of Congress covers the decades between the Gold Rush and the turn of the twentieth century.
U.S. History: Primary Source Collections Online
The online research guide from the Newton Gresham Library at Sam Houston University lists online primary sources collections.
Guide to Online Primary Sources: Hispanic Americans
This research guide from the library at UCSD links to online collections that include primary sources on Hispanic Americans.
KPBS: Primary Sources on the U.S-Mexican War
This KPBS site lists online collections of primary sources related to the U.S.-Mexican War.
Chronicling America [Library of Congress]
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Documents of the U.S.-Mexican War
The following is a collection of selected speeches, legislation, and battle reports that were written during the U.S.-Mexican War of 1846-1848.
Dupee Mexican History Collection Broadsides
The Dupee Collection offers nearly 200 broadsides [posters, flyers, advertisements] published after the Mexican republic secured its independence in 1821. Chronicled within the broadsides are Mexican partisan politics, religious and anti-clerical debates, popular literature and drama, domestic revolutions and armed conflict with the United States. Most are Spanish-language sources written by Mexican citizens and published in Mexico.
Mexican-American War and the Media [Virginia Tech]
Transcriptions of more than 5,000 articles dealing with the Mexican-American war of 1846-48 from the Times of London plus four American newspapers
Mexican Political Pamphlets: 1808-1832 [University of Toronto]
This online collection provides access to primary sources pertaining to the independence movement in Mexico, 1789-1828
The Pronunciamiento in Independent Mexico 1821 - 1876
Free online database that includes full transcriptions of over 1500 Spanish pronumciamientos. Often defined as 'revolt', the pronunciamiento was a written protest/petition, generally drafted as a list of grievances or demands, signed by a group of individuals and/or corporate body (high-ranking officers, town council officials, villagers, members of a particular garrison, Indian pueblo, etc.) that could result in an armed rebellion if the government did not attend to them.
Huntington Library's California Collections
Encompassing more than 300 archival collections, the Huntington's California holdings are of the first rank for the study of the state's history. Materials range chronologically from the late 18th century to the present and consist of all manner of media, including manuscripts, books, broadsides, photographs, maps, audiovisual materials, and realia. English and Spanish are the two principal languages.