Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

California History: HIS 3070: Find Books

A research guide for Dr. Rick Kennedy's PLNU California History Class.

WorldCat

Search the library's catalog, WorldCat, from the library's home page at libguides.pointloma.edu/ryanlibrary. Using WorldCat you can find print books, ebooks, and books available through interlibrary loan.

Quick Search

To limit your search to ebooks, after typing in a search term, click on eBook under Item Format on the left. You will be prompted to enter your PLNU login.

Though the library building is closed, you can still borrow print books. If you're local and would like to borrow a book and can pick it up at the library or if you do not live in San Diego County and would like a library book mailed to you, email Robin Lang at rlang@pointloma.edu with the book's title, author, it's call number, and your address. You are responsible for mailing the book back to the library before its due date.

 
    Find books, media, select articles and more:
      

  Go to:  Advanced Search   |   Course Reserves     
My Library Account  

Trouble logging in?    

 

 

   Search all EBSCO Databases:
 

 See all PLNU Ryan Library Databases   |  Trouble logging in?

Looking for the full-text of a specific article? Use the box to search for the title of the journal containing your article:



 

Print Books on California History

The general Dewey Decimal Call Number for books on California history is 979.4. You can browse books in this area on the Upper Level of Ryan Library. Open this link for call numbers for history books for each county in California. For example, the call number for books on San Diego County history is 979.498. History of Mexico and Central America is 972.

Ebooks on California History

To access subscription databases, including ebook databases, provide the same information you use to access campus Gmail and Canvas.  Use the advance search option in the databases.  The poppy to the right is the state flower.

  • eBook Central  Provides access to over 109,000 scholarly and reference books, including many award-winning titles. Users can create a "bookshelf" to organize their own content.

  • EBSCO eBook Collection This collection provides full-text access to hundreds of digital versions of books on a variety of subjects.