Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Websites on Women's Studies
Here are a few quality websites related to Women's Studies. If you would like to recommend a website, email Julie Sweeney.
The Arthur and Elizabeth Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America
The Schlesinger Library is part of the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard University.
Barnard Center for Research on Women
The BCRW promotes "projects that advance intersectional social justice feminist analyses and generate concrete steps toward social transformation."
The Bechdel Test measures the presence of women, or lack there of, in films and other works of fiction.
The Book of Margery Kempe
This website, maintained by the Consortium for the Teaching of the Middle Ages, provides an electronic copy of The Book of Margery Kempe along with an excellent introduction. The Book of Margery Kempe was written by a women in late Medieval Britain and documents the move away from her secure middle class life to one in the pursuit of spiritual piety.
Dorothy Day Library on the Web
This website is dedicated to the Catholic Worker's Movement and contains biographical material and a substantial number of full-text articles written by Day.
Eleanor Roosevelt Papers Project
George Washington University's Columbian Collge of Arts and Sciences is working to publish both digital and print editions of Eleanor Roosevelt's political papers. Many of Eleanor Roosevelt's papers are available on the website.
Feminism and Women's Studies
The Feminism and Women's Studies website was started by Carnegie Mellon University Women's Center and contains quality academic and non-academic content.
Search this site for articles on current topics related to feminism.
Gender and the Environment (United Nations)
The Global Gender and Environment Outlook is a collaborative project between UNEP and strategic partners to bring gender issues to the heart of environmental assessment and decision making. Seventeen indicators were pulled from available UN data, separated by gender, on environment and sustainable development issues.
Gifts of Speech: Women's Speeches from Around the World
Maintained by Liz Linton and supported by Sweet Briar College, this index of the speeches of women famous and not-so-famous contains the full-text of each speech listed.
Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online: Women's Studies
Search the Library of Congress's free online collection of prints and images.
National Women's Studies Association
According to their website, the NWSA "has as one of its primary objectives promoting and supporting the production and dissemination of knowledge about women and gender through teaching, learning, research and service in academic and other settings."
Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History & Culture
The Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture in Duke University's Rubenstein Library "acquires, preserves and makes available to a large population of researchers published and unpublished materials that reflect the public and private lives of women, past and present."
Women's Biography Sites
This website, created by Sharon Hushka, provides links to more than 250 women's biography websites.
Women's History Archive at Smith College
The Sophia Smith Collection at Smith College documents "the historical experience of women in the United States and abroad from the colonial era to the present."
Women's Studies Resources
This website includes a well-organized list of sites and news stories of interest in women's studies and is maintained by Karla Tonella from University of Iowa.
Women's Wire Daily
This Twitter feed posts news and stories related to women.
Women Come to the Front
This website from the Library of Congress documents journalists, photographers, and broadcasters During World War II and includes reproductions of original manuscripts, photographs, newspaper and magazine articles, along with historical sketches of eight women war correspondents and photographers.
Women of Protest: Photographs from the Records of the National Woman's Party
This online collection in the Library of Congress documents the National Women's Party's (NWP) suffragists activities from 1875 to 1938. The collection includes images, articles, essays, and other items.
Women’s Knowledge Digital Library (WKDL)
WKDL is hosted by the University of Wisconsin-Madison and "resources are divided alphabetically by topic and include websites, reports, articles, research, audiovisual materials, and more."
The World's Women 2015: Trends and Statistics (United Nations)
Published by the UN Statistics Division, this sixth edition of The World’s Women: Trends and Statistics provides the latest statistics and analysis on the status of women and men at global and regional levels and reviews the progress towards gender equality over the last 20 years.
Ask a Librarian
Chat here [or text 619-592-8884]
Is chat offline? Email your question!