Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COM 465 (Communication Theory & Research): Accessing Books

This guide provides direction for communication researchers enrolled in COM 465.

Access ebooks

Ryan Library subscribes to thousands of ebooks through two different ebook collections:

  • ebrary: This academic collection provides access to over 140,000 scholarly and reference books, and users can create a "bookshelf" to organize their own content. This collection is integrated into WorldCat, or may be searched separately using the ebrary link.
  • EBSCO ebooks: This collection provides full-text access to hundreds of digital books on a variety of subjects.

eBooks for Communication

Ryan Library subscribes to thousands of eBooks through ebrary and EBSCO's eBook collection.  These examples may be relevant to the annotated bibliography assignment:

Find Books @ Ryan Library

WorldCat is the tool you need to research books (and more). With one search, you will find:

  • Books and media materials at PLNU
  • ebooks available through PLNU
  • Articles from some of our most-used databases
  • Books available for InterLibrary Loan through Camino
  • Books available through WorldCat at other institutions (request through ILLiad)

A few things you should know:

  • For books found in Ryan Library, the check out period is 3 weeks, with an optional 3-week renewal.
  • For books borrowed through Camino, the check out period is 5 weeks (no renewals).
  • Renew books online by logging in and then selecting "My Library Account" in the upper right of the screen.

Requesting Materials from Other Libraries

Use these one of these options when requesting items that are not available at Ryan Library:

Camino

  • Only books can be requested from Camino.
  • Books requested via Camino take 2-5 business days.
  • Loan period is 45 days.
  • Books cannot be renewed.
  • Overdue fines will apply.   
  • Books must be picked up from the Point Loma campus.

      InterLibrary Loan

  • Articles, books and other materials can be requested from InterLibrary Loan.
  • Books requested via InterLibrary Loan may take a minumum of 7-10 business days.
  • Loan periods and renewal availability varies depending on the participating libraries.
  • Overdue fines will apply.

Click Here for ILL Request Form

Please select either the article or book form

 

Ask a Librarian

Chat with a librarian here! 

You can also connect via text message at 619-592-8884 or by email.