Ryan Library Databases are subscriptions provided to the PLNU community for online access to journal and magazine articles and/or citations.
You will be asked to log in with your PLNU network information to access any of these databases.
The best starting points for students of biology are:
- MEDILINE with Full Text: full text access to over 1,450 scholarly journals in medicine, nursing, and other helth care-related fields. This database includes content of interest to students in nursing, pre-med, biology, chemistry, education, and more.
- General Science Full Text: full text from more than 100 periodicals dating as far back as 1995, in addition to indexing for nearly 300 periodicals dating back to 1984; includes Journal of the History of Biology, Integrative and Comparative Biology, Human Biology, American Zoologist, and Bioscience.
- GreenFILE - includes all aspects of human impact to the environment. GreenFILE's collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Note: limited full text content (about 12,000 records)
- Academic Search Premier - from EBSCO. This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles; tip: to broaden coverage of environmental issues, go to "Choose Databases" and add GreenFILE to your search
-
OmniFile Full Text Mega - ...another multi-disciplinary database, slightly smaller than Academic Search Premier (full text for 2,500 publications); tip: can be searched simultaneously with Academic Search Premier and other EBSCO database via the "Choose Databases" option
Other good resources for biology are:
- Nature - access to selected full-text from 1990 to one year ago through ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database
Several journals from the American Chemical Society are relevant to biology, including:
