Skip to Main Content

SOC 360 Race & Ethnicity: Find Articles

This guide will aid you in your studying of the history of different race/ethnic groups' and immigrants, and their assimilation or lack thereof into the dominant Anglo culture.

Scholarly or Popular Periodical? What's the difference?

View a YouTube video via the link below for a discussion of scholary and popular information.

Citing resources

Endnote is a Web-based tool for managing and citing references in papers and creating bibliographies.  EndNote has numerous citation styles including APA, MLA, Chicago (Turabian).  EndNote is available to current members of the PLNU community.  Use your 8-digit PLNU ID card number to access EndNote Web.

Ryan Library Databases

 

Ryan Library databases are subscriptions provided to the PLNU community for online access to journal and magazine articles and/or citations. 

You can access databases from off campus. 

Recommended databases for this project include:

  • Academic Search Premier - large interdisciplinary database, with much full-text content.
  • C Q Researcher - devotes an entire issue to a single topic; providing in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues.
  • Lexis-Nexis - provides full-text documents from over 5,900 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.
  • JSTOR - large, interdisciplinary full-text database containing journals.  115 titles in Sociology, 17 titles in African American.
  • OmniFile Full Text Mega - multi-disciplinary database, with much full-text content.  
  • Social Sciences Full Text - covers every area of the Social Sciences, including anthropology,  law, minority studies, psychology and social work. 
 computer

Access articles from other libraries

Use ILLiad, PLNU's Interlibrary Loan program, to request articles that are not available at PLNU.  ILLiad requests take 7-10 business days

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.

Google Scholar Search