Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Citation Cheat Sheets
Use these "cheat sheets" to find sample citations for a variety of source types. You'll see citations for journal articles, online resources, books, and more.
Don't see what you need here? Let us know if you need examples for a different citation style. We'll do our best to create what you need.
Citation Style Guides Available in Ryan Library
Ryan Library has books for each of the main styles (APA, MLA, ASA, Chicago, etc.) available in the Reference Area. Below are some specific examples:
Citation Help Online
APA Style and Grammar Guidelines
Searchable resource provided by the American Psychological Association (APA). Includes examples of APA style references and provides answers to frequently asked questions about the format.
Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide
Provides information and examples for both Chicago Style citation systems: notes-bibliography and author-date
MLA Style Center
Overview, examples, and citation templates from the Modern Language Association (MLA)
Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue
--Learn about formatting citations and bibliographies
--Find answers to your grammar and punctuation questions
Need more help with citation questions?
Ask a librarian!
EndNote (Basic) is a web-based tool for managing and citing references in papers and creating bibliographies which allows users to:
- Search online resources
- Collect and organize references
- Format citations and footnotes or a bibliography
- Use numerous citation styles including APA, MLA, Chicago (Turabian).
Addtional instructions are at the Endnote Guide.
- EndNote is available to current members of the PLNU community.
- The first time you use EndNote, login with your PLNU Network ID and password.
- Once you get to EndNote, you will be asked to create a login that can be used from anywhere--it will not be necessary to go through the PLNU website for future sign-ins to EndNote.
- NOTE: EndNote works best in the Firefox browser.
Ask a Librarian
Chat with a librarian here!
You can also connect via text message at 619-592-8884 or by email.
Read More about It in The Saint Martin's Handbook
PLNU's College Composition courses use the 9th Edition of The St. Martin's Handbook as a guide to research.
The section beginning on page 240 provides guidance for citing sources in MLA style.
The section beginning on page 287 provides guidance for citing sources in APA style.
All Research Guides at Ryan Library