Archives & Special Collections: Welcome

Chat below or text 619-592-8884

The University Archives document the history of Point Loma Nazarene University and its predecessor institutions, beginning with Pacific Bible College in 1902. The Archives are located at the Mission Valley campus, and open by appointment to faculty, students, and researchers.

Browse finding aids for information about collections in the PLNU Archives. Email the University Archivist to request materials or schedule an appointment.

Ryan Library holds several rare book collections on site:

• Arminius Collection - Works by or about James Arminius
• Wesley Collection - Works by or about John and Charles Wesley
• Pre-Wesley Holiness - Works by holiness authors writing before the Wesleys

These collections do not circulate but are available for viewing by request. Contact the Research Help Desk (619.849.2337) for assistance.

What can I find in the University Archives?

Primary sources—records, publications, photographs, and artifacts that tell the story of PLNU’s people, programs, and campus life—as well as works by faculty, students, and alumni. The Archives also include materials related to the history of the Church of the Nazarene, the Wesleyan Holiness movement, and the Point Loma Theosophical Society (Lomaland).

Are some collections available online?

Yes. Student theses, honors projects, and Phineas Bresee Sermon Notes are available in the PLNU Institutional Repository. If you don’t find what you need online and can’t visit in person, contact the Archivist to see whether a digital copy can be provided. 

How far in advance should I schedule a visit?

Please schedule visits at least three business days ahead, so staff can prepare requested materials.

Why can’t I check out archival materials?

Because most items are rare or fragile, they must be viewed on-site in the Ryan Library or in the Mission Valley Archives reading room.

What rules apply in the Mission Valley Archives reading room?

Use pencils only (no pens), keep bags off tables, wash your hands (or wear gloves when provided) before handling materials, and refrain from food or drink.

Can I bring a laptop or take photos in the Archives?

Yes. Laptops and cameras are welcome for research use. You may photograph materials for personal reference, but publication requires additional permissions, and some items are protected by copyright or privacy laws.

How should I cite Archives materials?

Include the item description, collection name, and “Point Loma Nazarene University Archives” in your citation. Contact the Archivist if you need help with citation style.

Can I donate materials to the PLNU Archives?

Yes. We welcome donations that help tell PLNU’s story. If you are interested in contributing materials, please email archives@pointloma.edu.