Skip to main content

Online Reference Sources: Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and more: Online Reference Sources

Online Resources

Use online resources to gather background information and keywords about your research topic. Some sources are available as a subscription restricted to PLNU users only. Many links are free internet resources, which do not require a password.

Online Resources

Image credit: Krisan Marotta

Image credit: Getty Images

Dictionaries & Biographies (Need PLNU login and password)

Encyclopedias & Reference Collections (Need PLNU login and password)

AccessScience contains fully searchable full-text content from McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science & Technology.

GVRL is a collection of over 70 encyclopedias, handbooks, and other reference e-books.

Oxford Art Online

Provides access to the most authoritative, inclusive, and easily searchable online art resources available today.

Oxford Music Online

Welcome to Oxford Music Online, the world’s premier online music encyclopedia, offering comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship.

Oxford Reference

Oxford Reference Online offers over 175 full-text, fully-indexed, cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press, including detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions Series.

 

 

 

Statistical Information (Need PLNU login and password)

Historical Statistics of the United States

Historical Statistics of the United States is the standard source for the quantitative facts of American history.

Statistical Insight

ProQuest Statistical Insight provides abstracting, indexing, and full text for publications from hundreds of public domain and licensed statistical sources.

Streaming Videos (Need PLNU login and password)

iStock_000016059660_Small

PLNU Campus History

Campus History Photo Tour

Explore this photographic history of the campus Point Loma Nazarene University now calls home. This site contains archived historical PLNU web content.