LibGuides: Women's Studies: Articles and Databases

What's New? / Women's Studies Archive

NEW Resource!

Women's Studies Archive features nearly 1 million pages from primary source documents on the history of women throughout the 19th and 20th centuries.

Click here for additional information.

JSTOR

JSTOR

JSTOR does not use subject headings, but you can limit your search to journals covering Feminist & Women's Studies.

From the JSTOR homescreen, choose Advanced Search, then scroll down to the "Narrow by Discipline" section, and check the box marked "Feminist & Women's Studies." This will limit your search to over 40 journals included in JSTOR on the topic of Feminist & Women's Studies.

Other Databases

These databases contain content on topics related to Women's Studies. Enter your PLNU username and password when prompted.

EBSCO Databases
Search over 30 EBSCO databases at once. Use the subject terms in the box to the right for subject headings unique to EBSCO and Women's Studies.

Women and Social Movements in the U.S., 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
This full-text database focuses on the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000.
This full-text database focuses on the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Use this database to research women in literature.
Modern Language Association International Bibliography indexes books, articles and dissertations published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics, providing coverage from 1926 to the present.

Gale Literature Resources Center
This databases is a good resource if you have a specific author or title in mind.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides access to abstracts and some full-text journal articles.
This database, the American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource, contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, with journal coverage from around 2,500 periodicals dating as far back as the 1800s.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Provides full text to articles about psychology. See the box on the right for unique subject terms related to Women's Studies.
This resource provides complete access to the full text of nearly 80 scholarly journals in psychology and related fields, ranging from education, to nursing, to business, to neuroscience. It includes all of the American Psychological Association (APA) journals, with coverage ranging from 1894 to the present.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
This resource is a comprehensive summary of social, political, and economic statistics for the United States. Data are categorized by sex, marital status, children per household, education attainment, health, elections, employment earnings, age, and population, just to name a few.
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States.

Subject Terms

Many of our databses use subject terms to label documents. Subject terms function like a hashtag and are used to describe each document within a database. The Library of Congress provides a foundational list of subject terms, though many databases add additional, more discipline-specific subject terms to their indexes.

Though not an exhaustive list, the subject terms below relate to Women's Studies. You can copy and paste these into a database search window or click on the hyperlinked subject headings as you come across them in the databases you search. See a list of the databases to which we subscribe here.

Example from an EBSCO database search. Notice that the subject terms are hyperlinked:

Subject Terms

Library of Congress

Birth control OR Contraception

Body image OR Body image in women

Feminism

Feminism -- History -- 20th century

Feminism -- History -- 21st century

Feminism -- Religious aspects – Christianity

Feminism -- Religious aspects – Islam

Feminism -- Religious aspects – Judaism

Feminism -- Social aspects

Feminism & literature (see also Literature--Women authors and Feminism in literature)

Feminist literary criticism

Feminist psychology

Feminism & higher education

Feminist ethics

Feminist Psychology

Feminist theory

First-wave feminism

Gender expression

Gender Identity

Gender studies

Human trafficking

Intimate partner violence

Motherhood

Mothers

Reproductive health

Second wave feminism

Self-Perception

Sex discrimination against women

Sex discrimination in employment

Sex role (instead of “gender role”)

Sexism

Sexual harassment

Sexual Orientation

Stereotyped behavior (Psychiatry)

Socialist feminism

Social norms

Third-wave feminism

Womanism (feminism related to women of color)

Women authors

Women athletes

Women college students

Women in advertising

Women novelists

Women poets

Women--Political activity

Women’s health services

Women’s rights

Women -- Social conditions

Women's studies

Women--Suffrage

Young women

EBSCO Databases (Including Academic Search Premier and OmniFile Full Text, among many others)

Liberal feminism

Black feminism

Feminism & religion

Feminism & sports

Gender inequality

Radical feminism

Woman empowerment

MLA International Bibliography

Female characters

PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES

Body Image Disturbances

Family Work Relationship

Female Criminals

Female Attitudes

Household Management

Human Sex Differences

Psychology of Women

Role Conflicts

Sex Role Attitudes

Stereotyped Attitudes

Transgenerational Patterns

Subject Guide

Julie Sweeney

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Ryan Library
Office 208A

619-849-2472

Subjects: Literature, Journalism, Writing & Languages, Music, Theology & Christian Ministry, Women's Studies

Ask a Librarian

Chat below or text 619-592-8884
Is chat offline?
Email your question!