Theology, Christian Ministries, and Philosophy: Books

Most of our ebooks are available through these three databases. The ebooks available through each database are findable in WorldCat (just limit Item Format to eBook):

ProQuest eBook Central: Approximately 150,000 ebooks with unlimited, multi-user access, powerful research tools, and individual chapter downloads

EBSCO eBook Collection: This collection provides full-text access to hundreds of digital version of books on a variety of subjects.

Credo Reference: More than 700 dictionaries and encyclopedias; thousands of topic pages, mind-maps, images, audio files and videos to help you start research projects.

These Spanish-language theology books are available through Ryan Library. Both print books and ebooks are represented. To access an ebook, enter your PLNU OneLogin when prompted.

Ryan Library provides access to not only print books, but over 180,000 ebooks. You can quickly limit your results in WorldCat, the library's catalog, by clicking the eBook box under Item Format on the left side a results list page (see the screenshot below). eBooks can be accessed anywhere you have internet connection. If Ryan Library does not have a book you'd like to borrow, you may request to borrow it from another library though InterLibrary Loan (note: ebooks are not available through InterLibrary Loan). Email Julie Sweeney with questions.

Search for books, both print and electronic, in the Library's catalog, WorldCat. Reference books are found on the Main Level of the Library and books that may be borrowed are on the Lower Level just around the corner from the front circulation desk. Browse the philosophy and theology collection using the below call numbers:

100 Philosophy and Ethics

• 110 Metaphysics 
• 120 Epistemology, causation, humankind 
• 130 Paranormal phenomena, occult 
• 140 Specific philosophical schools 
• 150 Psychology 
• 160 Logic 
• 170 Ethics (moral philosophy) 
• 180 Ancient, medieval, oriental philosophy 
• 190 Modern Western philosophy

200 Religion

• 210 Natural theology 
• 220 Bible (Commentaries) 
  • Bible Concordances 220.2
  • Bible Dictionaries 220.3
  • Bible textual criticism 220.4
  • Bibles 220.52

  • Bible Interpretation and Criticism; Exegesis 220.6

  • Bible Commentaries 220.7

• 221 Old Testament
• 225 New Testament
• 230 Christian theology 
• 240 Christian moral & devotional theology 
  • 242 Devotionals
  • 248 Christian experience, practice, life (pastoral care)
• 250 Christian orders & local church  
  • 251-2 Sermon preparation
  • 253 pastoral office and work (pastoral theology; counseling)
• 260 Christian social theology 
• 270 Christian church history 
• 280 Christian denominations & sects 
• 290 Other & comparative religions

A few things you should know:

• For books found in Ryan Library, the borrowing period for students is 3 weeks, with an optional 3-week renewal.
• You can print borrow books Ryan Library doesn't own through InterLibrary Loan; borrowing period differs
• Renew books online by logging in and then selecting "My Library Account" in the upper right of the screen.