LibGuides: POL 270 Scope and Methods of Political Science Research: Find Articles

Scholarly or Popular Periodical? What's the difference?

Identifying Scholarly and Popular Information

View a YouTube video via the link below for a discussion of scholary and popular information.

Hard copy Periodicals

These titles are available at Ryan Library in the periodical section next to the reference area.

American Political Science Review
The China Quarterly
The Fletcher Forum of World Affairs
Foreign Affairs
Harvard International Review
International Organization
International Security
The Journal of Modern Africa Studies
The Journal of Politics
The Middle East Journal
Middle East Report (MER)
The Muslim World
Pacific Affairs
Political Science Quarterly (PSQ)
Washington Report on Middle East Affairs
World Politics

Ryan Library Databases

Ryan Library databases are subscriptions provided to the PLNU community for online access to journal and magazine articles and/or citations.

You can access databases from off campus.

When you click on the link the next page will ask for your PLNU Network ID and your PLNU password. This ID and password are the same ones you use to access Canvas and campus Gmail

Recommended databases for this field of study include:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Large interdisciplinary database, with much full-text content
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text version of over 250 volumes from Cambridge University Press
This unique historical reference compendium allows access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series from Cambridge University Press. With access to over 250 volumes of up to date and authoritative scholarly content, Cambridge Histories Online is an invaluable resource, for undergraduates, graduates, and faculty alike.

CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Onlline
The most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
CQ Researcher Plus and Archive
Devotes an entire issue to a single topic; providing in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Large, interdisciplinary full-text database. Note the 150+ titles in the Political Science section
This multi-disciplinary database offers full-text access to journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources, JSTOR is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
A leading global provider of content-enabled work flow solutions designed specifically for professionals in the legal, government, and academic markets.
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.

OmniFile Full Text Mega
Interdisciplinary database, with much full-text content.

Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Full-text reference books.
Oxford Reference Online offers over 175 full-text, fully-indexed, cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press, including detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions Series.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.

Requesting Articles from Other Libraries

You may request articles that are not available at Ryan Library from other libraries.

Click Here to Request Articles

Citing resources

Endnote is a Web-based tool for managing and citing references in papers and creating bibliographies. EndNote has numerous citation styles including APA, MLA, Chicago (Turabian). EndNote is available to current members of the PLNU community. Use your 8-digit PLNU ID card number to access EndNote Web.