Sociology & Social Work Research Guide: Books

Ryan Library provides access to not only print books, but over 180,000 ebooks. You can quickly limit your results in WorldCat, the library's catalog, by clicking the eBook box under Item Format on the left side a results list page (see the screenshot below). eBooks can be accessed anywhere you have internet connection. If Ryan Library does not have a book you'd like to borrow, you may request to borrow it from another library though InterLibrary Loan (ILL) (note: only print books are available through ILL). Email Robin Lang with questions.

Most of our ebooks are available through these three databases, which are integrated into the results of our catalog, WorldCat (be sure to limit Item Format to eBook; see screenshot above):

ProQuest eBook Central: Approximately 150,000 ebooks with unlimited, multi-user access, powerful research tools, and individual chapter downloads

EBSCO eBook Collection: This collection provides full-text access to hundreds of digital version of books on a variety of subjects.

Credo Reference: More than 700 dictionaries and encyclopedias; thousands of topic pages, mind-maps, images, audio files and videos to help you start research projects.

Ryan Library uses Dewey Decimal Classification. Use these call numbers to browse books in print. Books in the 300s are on the Middle Level. In addition to books in print, the Library provides over 180,000 ebooks (see the box below). Use the same call numbers to browser references books like encyclopedias in the library's Reference Area on the Main Floor.

• 300 Social sciences, sociology and anthropology
  • 300 Social sciences
  • 301 Sociology and anthropology
  • 302 Social interaction
  • 303 Social processes
  • 304 Factors affecting social behavior
  • 305 Groups of people
    • 305.231 Child development
    • 371 Schools & activities; special education
  • 306 Culture and institutions
  • 307 Communities
• 340 Law (Criminal Justice)
  • 340 Law
  • 341 Law of nations
  • 342 Constitutional and administrative law
  • 343 Military, defense, public property, public finance, tax, commerce (trade), industrial law
  • 344 Labor, social service, education, cultural law
  • 345 Criminal law
  • 346 Private law
  • 347 Procedure and courts
  • 348 Laws, regulations, cases
  • 349 Law of specific jurisdictions, areas, socioeconomic regions, regional intergovernmental organizations
• 360 Social problems and social services
  • 360-61 Social problems and services; associations
  • 362 Social problems of and services to groups of people
  • 363 Other social problems and services
  • 364 Criminology
  • 365 Penal and related institutions
• 370 Education
• 640 Home and family management

More books on sociology, social work, family sciences, and criminal justice are in the 300-399 call number range on the 2rd Floor of Ryan Library. Access to ebooks require a PLNU OneLogin. Contact librarian Robin Lang with any questions.

Use this option when requesting items that are not available at Ryan Library:

      InterLibrary Loan

• Articles, books, and other materials can be requested from InterLibrary Loan.

***Ebooks are rarely available via InterLibrary Loan***      (Licensing restrictions limit the sharing of digital resources.)

• Ebook chapters may be more readily obtained than the entire book. Keep this in mind when placing requests and be specific about chapters/page numbers when possible.
• Books requested via InterLibrary Loan take a minimum of 7-10 business days to receive.
• Loan periods and renewal availability vary depending on the participating libraries.
• Overdue fines will apply.

Click Here for ILL Request Form

Please select either ARTICLE or BOOK when placing your request.