Ryan Library Databases are subscriptions provided to the PLNU community for online access to journal and magazine articles and/or citations.
When logging in, use your PLNU network login--the same information you use to sign into Canvas or the PLNU Portal.
Recommended databases for linguistics research include:
These general databases may also provide relevant content:
InterLibrary Loan allows members of the PLNU community to request articles from another library.
Before you request an article, complete the following steps (in this order) to verify that the article is not available at PLNU:
Do you work or attend classes at a PLNU location other than the main campus? Use the Interlibrary Loan form to request books or articles from PLNU's Ryan Library.
Search WorldCat for your topic, or request books from beyond our library with the Camino library network.
The examples below may provide some inspiration!
How to Understand Language: A Philosophical Inquiry by 
Implicit and Explicit Language Learning by 
On Nature and Language by 
Speech and Language Processing by Specialized encyclopedias offer concise articles that define important concepts and theories, providing development timelines and background for current research.
Find these in the Ryan Library reference area:
Encyclopedia of Linguistics by 
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the English Language by 
The Linguistics Encyclopedia by Use these "cheat sheets" to find sample citations for a variety of source types. You'll see citations for journal articles, online resources, books, and more.
Ryan Library has books for each of the main styles (APA, MLA, ASA, Chicago, etc.) available in the Reference Area.
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association