Ryan Library exists primarily to serve the research and information needs of the PLNU community including current students, faculty and staff.
PLNU patrons can use their PLNU ID card to access library services including:
Please take note of the following policies regarding community use of library computers:
A digital scanner with email capability is available in the library reference area.
The Research Help Desk at Ryan Library welcomes electronic reference questions from members of the Point Loma Nazarene University community (faculty/staff/students).
We regret that Ryan Library does not have the resources to answer questions from other individuals, unless the question concerns Ryan Library policies and procedures, library material unique to Point Loma, or other Point Loma Library-related information.
Ask A Librarian services are generally available at the following times during regular operating hours:
|Monday - Thursday||8:15 am to 10:00 pm|
|Friday||8:15 am to 5:00 pm|
|Saturday||11:00 am to 6:00 pm|
1:00 pm to 9:00 pm
Instant Messaging and Email Reference will be limited during holidays and school breaks.
Ryan Library has 9 Group Study Rooms for our PLNU community (students/faculty/staff).
These rooms are available on request and may not be reserved.
Request a key for your group at the Circulation Desk.
Five rooms have a chalkboard for your convenience.
Four of the rooms are equipped with technology to enhance your study experience.
Ryan Library maintains several Special Collections on-site, including:
|Arminius Collection||Works by or about James Arminius|
|Wesley Collection||Works by or about John or Charles Wesley|
|Pre-Wesley Holiness||Works by holiness authors writing prior to the Wesleys|
Special Collections items do not circulate. They are available for use in the Reference area by request.
To request use of Special Collections materials, contact the Reference Desk (619.849.2337)
WorldCat is the tool you need to research books (and more)::
A few things you should know:
The University Archives are located at the PLNU Mission Valley Campus. Although the Archives are not open to the public, materials stored in Archives may be available for viewing.
Use ILLiad to request an item from the University Archives.
|Books or other publications written by Pasadena/Point Loma Nazarene University alumni, faculty, staff, or students.|
P'Cinian and Point Weekly from 1944 - 2005.
|A publication produced by the university to inform students about events, jobs, deadlines from the registrar, etc.|
Please note that the University Archives are in the process of organization and cataloging; as a result, some items in the University Archives may be currently inaccessible.
Contact the Archives Assistant at (619) 849-2262 or email email@example.com to determine whether the items you would like to request are accessible.