Skip to main content

HON 101 (Rhetoric: Critical Communication): Research as Inquiry

This guide provides an introduction to research for students in HON 101.

Find a Subject Encyclopedia

Encyclopedia Wordle

  1. In WorldCat, search using a concise description of your topic plus "encyclopedias" (plural)
  2. Choose "Point Loma Nazarene University" in the pull-down menu
  3. If needed, repeat using a broader search terms
  4. Click on title of encyclopedia
  5. Use the "call number" to locate it in the Reference Area
  6. Use the index at the very end of the encyclopedia to find a relevant article

Need help? Ask a Librarian!

Sample Subject Encyclopedias

Find Books

WorldCat is Ryan Library's catalog. It includes a variety of resources:

  • Books and videos on the shelf at PLNU
  • ebooks available through PLNU
  • Articles from some of our most-used databases
  • Books available in the region for request through Camino
  • Books available around the world for request through InterLibrary Loan

A few things you should know:

  • Ryan Library books can be kept for 3 weeks and renewed for 3 more.
  • Camino books can be kept for 5 weeks (no renewal).
  • Renew Ryan Library books by logging in and selecting "My Library Account" in the upper right corner.

Access ebooks

Ryan Library subscribes to thousands of eBooks through two different ebook collections:

  • Ebook Central: A collection of over 140,000 scholarly and reference books. Ebrary is integrated into WorldCat, but it can be searched separately using this ebrary link.
  • EBSCO ebooks: This collection provides full-text access to hundreds of digital books on a variety of subjects.

Read more about it in St. Martin's Handbook

PLNU's College Composition courses use the 8th ed. of the St. Martin's Handbook as a guide to research. Review important information about the research process and some types of resources on the following pages:

Pg. 201-202: Beginning the research process; reference works

‚ÄčPg. 205-206: Finding books to use as sources

Pg. 200-201: Scholarly vs. popular sources

Pg. 203-204: Advanced search options

Before you Request an Article

InterLibrary Loan allows members of the PLNU community to request articles from another library.

Before you request an article, complete the following steps (in this order) to verify that the article is not available at PLNU:

  1. Find out if the journal is full text in one of our databases. 
  2. Find out if the journal (hard copy) is located in Ryan Library. 
  3. Use InterLibrary Loan to request the article. 

Do you work or attend classes at a PLNU location other than the main campus? Use the Interlibrary Loan form to request books or articles from PLNU's Ryan Library. 

Find Articles

Ryan Library subscribes to over 80 Reference Databases. These resources offer online access to journal and magazine articles and/or citations.

For general research, we recommend starting with one of these two databases:

Woman typing on laptop computer

Log in using your PLNU username and password.

For research within a specific discipline, try starting with one of our Research Guides.

Requesting Materials from Other Libraries

Use these one of these options when requesting items that are not available at Ryan Library:

Camino

  • Only books can be requested from Camino.
  • Books requested via Camino take 2-5 business days.
  • Loan period is 45 days.
  • Books cannot be renewed.
  • Overdue fines will apply.   
  • Books must be picked up from the Point Loma campus.

      InterLibrary Loan

  • Articles, books and other materials can be requested from InterLibrary Loan.
  • Books requested via InterLibrary Loan may take a minumum of 7-10 business days.
  • Loan periods and renewal availability varies depending on the participating libraries.
  • Overdue fines will apply.

Click Here for ILL Request Form

Please select either the article or book form