Skip to main content

University Now: About Ryan Library

Help for UNow students working to complete their Henrietta Lacks assignment

Who can use Ryan Library?

1.  PLNU Students, Faculty and Staff

Ryan Library exists primarily to serve the research and information needs of the PLNU Community including current students, faculty and staff.


PLNU patrons can use their PLNU ID card to access library services including:

  • Check out books
  • Check out key to Group Study Rooms
  • Access online databases remotely
  • Request interlibrary loans

2.  Community Users

 

It is the policy of Ryan Library to make its resources available to the public.  Members of the community surrounding PLNU are welcome to use the library for research or study, and community library cards may be purchased at the Reference desk. 

Please take note of the following policies regarding community use of library computers:

  • Library research computers are not intended for recreational use; however, community users are invited to conduct research, search online employment listings, or briefly (20-minute maximum) access their email accounts.
  • PLNU students, staff, and faculty are always the library’s top priority.  At busy times, community users may be asked to relinquish a computer terminal for student use.
  • Members of the community using research computers for social networking, general Web surfing, online games, illegal purposes, or any purpose deemed inappropriate in light of the University’s emphasis on grace, truth, and holiness will be asked to leave the library.

Copying and Scanning

Ryan Library provides a coin-operated photocopier for general use (5 cents/page) on the library's lower level near the elevator.  A digital scanner with email capability is available in the same area.

PLNU Faculty may charge copies to their department by contacting the Circulation Desk. 

Ask a Librarian Service

The Research Help Desk at Ryan Library welcomes electronic reference questions from members of the Point Loma Nazarene University community (faculty/staff/students).

We regret that Ryan Library does not have the resources to answer questions from other individuals, unless the question concerns Ryan Library policies and procedures, library material unique to Point Loma, or other Point Loma Library-related information

"Ask A Librarian" Hours

Monday - Thursday 8:30 am to 9:30 pm
Friday 8:30 am to 4:30 pm
Saturday 11:30 am to 5:30 pm
Sunday

1:30 pm to 8:30 pm 

 

Instant Messaging and Email Reference will be limited during holidays and school breaks.

What is Where in Ryan Library?

Circulation Area

  • Circulation Desk
    • Check out books
    • Find items on Reserve
    • Check out Group Study Room key
  • Access to Middle and Upper Levels via SW Stair Tower and NW Inner Stairwell

Reference Area

  • Research Help Desk
  • Reference Books (i.e. encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases)
  • Current periodicals
  • Microforms Scanner
  • Study areas
  • Librarians' Offices
  • Library Instruction Room 202
  • Access to Computer Labs

Lower Level

  • Books (call #'s 000 - 299.999)
  • Photocopier and digital scanner
  • Paper cutter, pencil sharpener, and electric hole punch/stapler
  • Individual study desks

Middle Level

  • Books (call #'s 300 - 699.999)
  • Group Study Rooms (check out key at Circulation Desk)
  • Study areas

Upper Level

  • Books (call #'s 700 - 999.999, Juvenile Literature, and Oversized Books)
  • Individual study desks
  • Quiet study areas
  • Restroom

Special Collections in Ryan Library

Ryan Library maintains several Special Collections on-site, including:

Arminius Collection Works by or about James Arminius
Wesley Collection Works by or about John or Charles Wesley
Pre-Wesley Holiness Works by holiness authors writing prior to the Wesleys


NOTE:  Special Collections items do not circulate. They are available for use in the Reference area by request.

To request use of Special Collections materials, contact the Reference Desk (619.849.2337)

Ask a Librarian

Chat with a librarian here! 

You can also connect via text message at 619-592-8884 or by email.

Find Books @ Ryan Library

Phineas is Ryan Library's online catalog, named after the school's first president, Phineas F. Bresee.

Collections in Archives

The University Archives are located at the PLNU Mission Valley Campus. Although the Archives are not open to the public, materials stored in Archives may be available for viewing.

Use ILLiad to request an item from the University Archives.

P Collection

Books or other publications written by Pasadena/Point Loma Nazarene University alumni, faculty, staff, or students.

Student Newspapers

P'Cinian and Point Weekly from 1944 - 2005.

The Alert

A publication produced by the university to inform students about events, jobs, deadlines from the registrar, etc.


Please note that the University Archives are in the process of organization and cataloging; as a result, some items in the University Archives may be currently inaccessible.

Contact the Archives Assistant at (619) 849-2262 or email ill@pointloma.edu to determine whether the items you would like to request are accessible.