These journals are available in print in Ryan Library and online through some of our databases. The current issue is kept in the Reference Area and all subsequent issues are kept in the Lower Level. Journal titles are arranged alphabetically. Ask a Librarian for help if you can't find the issue you need.
These journals are available in print in Ryan Library and online through some of our databases. The current issue is kept in the Reference Area and all subsequent issues are kept in the Lower Level. Journal titles are arranged alphabetically. Ask a Librarian for help if you can't find the issue you need.
Pop this video out to watch it on a new tab.
You can look for books in the Library's catalog, WorldCat, on the Library's homepage.
We suggest making a bookmark for the main Ryan Library page.
These Research Guides provide more information on how to access science related resources through Ryan Library:
Biology: http://libguides.pointloma.edu/biology
Chemistry: http://libguides.pointloma.edu/chemistry
Kinesiology: http://libguides.pointloma.edu/kinesiology
Nursing: http://libguides.pointloma.edu/nursing
Physics & Engineering: http://libguides.pointloma.edu/PHYSICS
Psychology: http://libguides.pointloma.edu/psychology
Ryan Library Databases are subscriptions provided to the PLNU community for online access to journal and magazine articles and/or citations.
You will be asked to log in with your PLNU network information to access any of these databases.
The best starting points for students of biology are:
MEDLINE with Full Text - full-text access to over 1,450 scholarly journals in medicine, nursing, and other health care-related fields. This database includes content of interest to students in nursing, pre-med, biology, chemistry, education, and more.
General Science Full Text - full text from more than 100 periodicals dating as far back as 1995, in addition to indexing for nearly 300 periodicals dating back to 1984; includes Journal of the History of Biology, Integrative and Comparative Biology, Human Biology, American Zoologist, and Bioscience
Academic Search Premier - from EBSCO. This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles; tip: to broaden coverage of environmental issues, go to "Choose Databases" and add GreenFILE to your search
OmniFile Full Text Mega - ...another multi-disciplinary database, slightly smaller than Academic Search Premier (full text for 2,500 publications); tip: can be searched simultaneously with Academic Search Premier and other EBSCO database via the "Choose Databases" option
Other good resources for biology are:
ScienceDirect - selected full-text scholarly journal articles from the Elsevier publisher
Several journals from the American Chemical Society are relevant to biology, including:
"PLOS Biology is an open-access, peer-reviewed general biology journal published by PLOS, a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a public resource. New articles are published online weekly; issues are published monthly."
PLOS Biology stands for Public Library of Science, Biology
Did you know that using the words "and," "or," and "not" with your search terms can help you find more relevant results? Check out this video that explains this concept called Boolean Logic: