Skip to main content

COM 265 (Intro to Empirical Research): Finding Journal Articles

Discover a Database

Access Ryan Library databases using the links below.

Log in with your name (First Last) and your 8-digit ID number.  It's on your card near the barcode.

Try one of these helpful options:

About ComAbstracts

ComAbstracts contains abstracts of articles and books published in the primary professional literature of the communication disciplines.

What does it have?

  • information about articles, books, and other materials
  • detailed search options (with automatic searching for synonyms)
  • easy subject browsing

About Communication & Mass Media Complete

Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) is an EBSCO database, so it should look familiar.  Combine it with other EBSCO databases, including Academic Search Premier, ERIC, and PsycINFO or PsycARTICLES.

What does it have?

  • scholarly journals on communication and mass media
  • over 820 popular magazines and scholarly journals with full-text access to over 450 journals
  • TIP: try a SUBJECT search with "qualitative research" or "quantitative research

About ERIC

ERIC includes many types of information, including conference presentations, dissertation abstracts, journal articles, and other publications.  Take time to discern what type of documents are included in your search results.

What does it have?

  • special focus on education topics
  • ability to search for questionnaires

About PsycARTICLES & PsycINFO

These two databases are provided by the American Psychological Association.  Search them together to combine the broader coverage of PsycINFO with the full-text power of PsycARTICLES.

What do they have?

  • extensive coverage of journals published by the APA
  • current information and deep backfiles of historical content
  • advanced search features to narrow results according to study sample

Requesting Articles from Other Libraries

You may request articles that are not available at Ryan Library from other libraries.

Click Here to Request Articles