Skip to main content

General & Interdisciplinary Research Guide: Find Articles

Research Guide for all general or interdisciplinary topics

Find Articles

Ryan Library subscribes to over 80 Reference Databases.  These subscription-based resources are provided to the PLNU community for online access to journal and magazine articles and/or citations.

For general or interdisciplinary research, we recommend starting with one of the databases below.

You will be asked to log in with your PLNU network information to access any of these databases.

For research within a specific discipline, try starting with one of our Research Guides.

Having trouble accessing our databases? Check out the box below.

Having trouble accessing databases?

Ryan Library subscribes to over 80 Reference Databases.  These subscription-based resources provide online access to journal and magazine articles and/or citations. You can access these databases from many places on the Ryan Library home page:

  1. Choose a specific database from our list of Reference Databases
  2. Choose to search just our EBSCO databases by entering a search term in the Articles tab under Quick Search Tools on the Ryan Library home page
  3. Choose the Books & More tab under Quick Search Tools on the Ryan Library home page, and choose to view the results from a specific article database (Academic Search Complete, ProQuest Religion, Proquest Nursing & Allied Health, and JSTOR
  4. Choose a database from one of the many library "Research Guides"

Once you select a database, this screen will display, asking you to log in.  

               Database Login Screen

Simply enter your regular PLNU network login information (the same information you use to access your PLNU email).

Questions? Contact us (or use the Ask a Librarian box on this page).

Note: If you are a guest in the library, and wish to use a database, see the librarian for a temporary login.

Requesting Articles from Other Libraries

You may request articles that are not available at Ryan Library from other libraries.

Click Here to Request Articles

Scholarly vs. Popular Articles

This video explains it well:

Ask a Librarian

Chat with a librarian here! 

You can also connect via text message at 619-592-8884 or by email.