The below books are just one in a commentaries series. Ryan Library usually contains all titles in the series (unless the series is not yet complete). Some commentaries are available in two locations: Reference and Lower Level. Reference books have an "R" in front of their call number. Copies on the Lower Level may be borrowed and copies in the Reference Area must be used in the library.
Genesis 1-15 by 
NBBC, Genesis 1-11 by 
The New Interpreter's® Bible Commentary Volume IThe Bible commentary series listed below are available in ebook format through Ryan Library. Not all volumes in each series is available as an ebook.
Credo Reference helps you start your research in religion with dictionaries of theology, profiles of religious figures, and overviews of key ideas.
Ryan Library has hundreds of subject encyclopedias, commentaries, and lexicons in the area of Religion and Philosophy.
Note: To view the table of contents in a print book, open the book's record in WorldCat (the hyperlinked titles below open each book's record), then expand the View Description section. If the table of contents is quite long, try keyword searching on the page by using the Cntl F/Command F shortcut.
Creeds and Confessions of Faith in the Christian Tradition by 
Encyclopedia of Science and Religion by 
Encyclopedia of Women and World Religion
Hebrew and Aramaic Lexicon of the Old Testament by 
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Strongest Strong's Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible by 
Word Biblical Commentary
The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy by 
A Dictionary of Biblical Interpretation by 
Dictionary of the Later New Testament and Its Developments by The ebooks listed below require a PLNU OneLogin:
Online Bible Commentaries from Ryan Library: These are the Bible commentaries available in ebook format through Ryan Library's WorldCat catalog.
Encyclopedia of World Religions: Encyclopedia of Protestantism (2016): Available through Credo Reference database. Using an A-to-Z format, this encyclopedia covers the primary people, events, groups, and theological issues that emerged at the Protestantism's origin; the main individuals, concerns, and movements that shaped it in subsequent centuries. Coverage includes those parts of the world in which Protestantism did not appear until the 19th century, regions that are now home to the growing edge of the movement (Asia, Africa, and Oceania).
The below list highlights individual Bible commentaries available in the ebook format through Ryan Library. Note: You can find more commentaries on your area of interest by clicking on the hyperlinked series titles and subject headings in each book's record.
Abingdon Old Testament Commentaries: Book of Daniel by 
Abingdon Old Testament Commentaries: Minor Prophets
Amos, Hosea, Micah, Nahum, Zephaniah, Habakkuk by 
The Christ Is Jesus by 
Deuteronomy in the New Testament by 
Ecclesiastes Through the Centuries by 
First and Second Kings by 
Hosea 2 by 
Insights on Philippians, Colossians, Philemon by 
Leviticus by 
The New Collegeville Bible commentary. New Testament by 
The new Collegeville Bible commentary. Old Testament by 
Proverbs, Ecclesiastes, Song of Solomon by 
Proverbs, Ecclesiastes, Song of Songs : a Comprehensive Verse-by-Verse Exploration of the Bible by 
Revelation by Print Bible dictionaries are located in the Ryan Library's Reference Area. Online dictionaries require a PLNU OneLogin.
Dictionaries in Print
These print dictionaries are available in the Reference Area of Ryan Library and must be used in-house.
The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible by 
The Anchor Bible Dictionary by 
Dictionary of New Testament Background by 
Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible by Dictionaries Available In Both Print and Online
The Oxford Companion to the Bible by Online Bible Dictionaries
Essential Bible Dictionary (2017): This Bible dictionary is published by Zondervan and is available through the Credo Reference database. The hyperlinked title opens to a alphabetized table of contents.
The below Bible commentary series are 'open access' meaning they are freely available on the internet and do not require a PLNU OneLogin.
The IVP New Testament Commentary Series: available through the Bible Gateway website; some content is free, some is not.
Virtual Theological Library Project: provides links to open access online commentaries.
Google Search for Open Access Bible Commentaries Online: This customized Google search pulls results from multiple online Bible research tools such as biblegateway.com and biblehub.com. Search by Bible passage.
Use this option when requesting items that are not available at Ryan Library:
InterLibrary Loan
***Ebooks are rarely available via InterLibrary Loan*** (Licensing restrictions limit the sharing of digital resources.)
Click Here for ILL Request Form
Please select either ARTICLE or BOOK when placing your request.
Reference sources provide background information, an overview of a topic, specialized vocabulary and terminology, and critical concepts. They're often a great starting point. The Library has reference materials both online and in print.
Want more information?
Browse our Reference section or the corresponding call numbers on the Lower Level of Ryan Library:
