Skip to main content

Endnote: Adding References

How to use Endnote for research.

How to Add References

There are four options of adding references to your Endnote Web library. You can:

  • manually add references;
  • perform an online search directly in Endnote Basic;
  • import the references from databases and some websites;
  • use the Endnote Web capture reference on the browser's toolbar.

Online Search with Endnote Basic

You can perform searches in PubMed®, and many other library catalog and reference database sites directly through EndNote Web.

 1. Click on the collect tab.

2. In the connection file drop down list, select the catalog or database. See Connection File Favorites to customize this list.

3. Click on the connect button.

Importing References into Endnote Basic

Many databases do not directly import into Endnote Web. You must first export or download the information onto your computer from the database, then import or upload the information from your computer into Endnote Web. The following table provides instructions on how to export and import the citations into Endnote Web.

Information Provider

Recommended Download/Export Format

Import Options/Filters

Library catalog (WorldCat)   

1.       Check desired records to save

2.       Click on Cite/Export link

3.       From Export a citation option, click on Export to  EndNote / Reference Manager 

4.       Click Save File.

RefMan (RIS) filter

EBSCOhost

1.       Within your folder, select the Export option.

2.       Select Direct Export to Endnote Basic.

3.       Click Save.

Various EBSCO filters provided.

Google Scholar

Set up Google scholar:

1.       Click on the Settings link

2.       Under Bibliography Manager select the option Show links to import citations into and choose Endnote

Follow these steps to import search results in Endnote Web:

1.       After performing a search on Google Scholar click on the Import into Endnote link for the reference you want to import.

2.       Click Save File in the pop-up box

Endnote Import filter

JSTOR

1.       Login or register for free account

2.       Click on the Export Citation link

3.       Select RIS file from the format options

4.       Click Save in the pop-up box

5.       Type in name of file with ris extension

JSTOR filter

ProQuest

1.       Perform your search and then mark references by checking the boxes to the left of each record.

2.       Click the Export link.

3.       Select the link Download in a format compatible with ProCite, EndNote, Reference Manager and RefWorks.

4.       Use the File>Save to save the file.

RefMan (RIS) filter

PubMed

1.       From the search results page, select Medline  from the Display Settings drop-down list box.

2.       From your browser, select File>Save.

3.       Save the file as a plain text (*.txt) file.

PubMed (NLM) filter

ScienceDirect

1.       Mark records you want to save

2.       Click on the Export Citations link

3.       Select Citations and Abstracts and RIS format

4.       Click Export button

5.       Click Save in the pop-up box

RefMan (RIS) filter

Wiley Online

1.       Mark records you want to save

2.       Click on the Export Citation link

3.       Select Endnote format and Citation and Abstract type

4.       Click Submit button

5.       Click Save in the pop-up box

RefMan (RIS) filter

Manually Add References

You can manuually type references in Endnote Web.

  • Click Collect tab.
  • Click New Reference link located below the Collect tab.
  • Change the Reference type from Generic to the correct one for your reference, such as Book, Journal Article, etc.
  • Enter information in the appropriate fields.
  • Choose the folder where the reference is to be located.
  • Click Save.


Capture with Endnote Basic

Saving Bibliographic Information to your Library

You can save bibliographic information to your library easily with the Capture button in the EndNote Web browser toolbar. This command scans the bibliographic information stored on the web page and creates a pre-filled reference that you can save to a new or existing group or groups. If no group is specified, the reference is saved to Unfiled.

After conducting your search, make sure to go to the individual record before using Capture. The Capture tool saves one reference at a time and will not save marked references from the results page.

To save a reference to your library:

  1. Click the button in the EndNote Web toolbar which will open a new reference window.Capture
  2. Complete or modify any of the fields.
  3. Click the Save to button and select EndNote Web.

The Capture button will appear in the EndNote Web browser toolbar once the EndNote Web Plug-in has been installed (to install the Plug-in, click on Download Installers under the Options tab and follow the instructions).