Skip to main content

Library Information: Archives/Special Collections

Ask a Librarian

Chat with a librarian here! 

You can also connect via text message at 619-592-8884 or by email.

Collections in Archives

The University Archives are located at the PLNU Mission Valley Campus. Although the Archives are not open to the public, materials stored in Archives may be available for viewing by appointment.

Use ILLiad to request an item from the University Archives.

P Collection

Books or other publications written by Pasadena/Point Loma Nazarene University alumni, faculty, staff, or students.

Student Newspapers

P'Cinian and Point Weekly from 1944 - 2005.

The Alert

A publication produced by the university to inform students about events, jobs, deadlines from the registrar, etc.

Please note that the University Archives are in the process of organization and cataloging; as a result, some items in the University Archives may be currently inaccessible.

You may contact Archives by calling (619) 849-2262 or you can Email the Archives Assistant to determine whether the items you would like to request are accessible. 

Special Collections @ Ryan Library

Ryan Library maintains several Special Collections on-site, including:

Arminius Collection Works by or about James Arminius
Wesley Collection Works by or about John or Charles Wesley
Pre-Wesley Holiness Works by holiness authors writing prior to the Wesleys

NOTE:  Special Collections items do not circulate. They are available for use in the Reference area by request.

To request use of Special Collections materials, contact the Reference Desk (619.849.2337)

Archives/Special Collections FAQ

What can I find in the University Archives?
Books by faculty or alumni, faculty dissertations, master's theses, student publications, university publications, event programs, event posters, event brochures, department minutes, cabinet minutes, historical photographs, paintings, and a few other miscellaneous items.

Where are the University Archives located?
The University Archives are located at the PLNU Mission Valley campus in San Diego.

How long does it take to get something from the Archives?
It takes 5-7 business days to retrieve materials from the Archives if they are accessible. 

Why are Archival materials only available for viewing in the library?
Many of the items in the Archives are rare, delicate, or otherwise irreplaceable.  As a result, we ask that you keep these items in the library.

Can I get a copy of an old syllabus?
We do not keep old syllabi in the University Archives.  Please contact academic departments directly to see whether a copy of an old syllabus is available.

Who can I contact about finding Archives materials?
Please email the Archives Assistant  or call (619) 849-2262 for more information.