Skip to main content

Info for Regional Centers: Accessing Articles

This guide provides information for PLNU Regional Center students, faculty and staff.

Accessing Databases

Ryan Library subscribes to over 80 Reference Databases.  These subscription-based resources provide online access to journal and magazine articles and/or citations. 

You can access these databases from many places on the Ryan Library home page, including:

  • Choose a specific database from our alphabetical list of All Databases.
  • Choose all of our EBSCO databases by using the search box in the Articles tab under Quick Search Tools.
  • Choose "Research Guides" and select a discipline or course to see recommended databases.

If prompted, simply enter your PLNU network ID username and password.     

Here is an example:

     Username: jsmith1997

     Password: your usual PLNU network password

Questions? Contact us. 

Note: If you are a guest in the library and wish to use a database, see a librarian for assistance.

Request an Article

InterLibrary Loan allows members of the PLNU community to request articles from another library.

Before you request an article, complete the following steps (in this order) to verify that the article is not available at PLNU:

  1. Find out if the journal is full text in one of our databases. 
  2. Find out if the journal (hard copy) is located in Ryan Library. 
  3. Use InterLibrary Loan to request the article. 

Do you work or attend classes at a PLNU location other than the main campus? Use the Interlibrary Loan form to request books or articles from PLNU's Ryan Library. 

Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) vs. Popular Periodicals

Ask a Librarian

Chat with a librarian here! 

You can also connect via text message at 619-592-8884 or by email.