Skip to main content

Sociology & Social Work Research Guide: Find Articles

A research guide for Point Loma Nazarene University students. How-to guide to access print, database articles and quality Internet resources.

Requesting Articles from Other Libraries

You may request articles that are not available at Ryan Library from other libraries.

Click Here to Request Articles

How to Cite...

EndNote is a Web-based tool for managing and citing references in papers and creating bibliographies.  EndNote has numerous citation styles including ASA (American Sociological Association) and AAA (American Anthropological Assoication.)  EndNote is available to current members of the PLNU community.  Use your 8-digit PLNU ID card number to access EndNote Web.
Also look at these online resources for ASA citation help:
American Sociology Association web site
OWL ASA Resources


American Anthropological Association Style Guide - Download a PDF of the AAA guide.

Recommended Databases

Ryan Library databases are subscriptions provided to the PLNU community for online access to journal and magazine articles and/or citations.  Try the databases listed below for your article searches.  When you are prompted to use your PLNU Network ID and PLNU Network Password use the same ID and passowrd you use to access your campus Gmail account.

Academic Search Premier - large interdisciplinary database, with much full-text content

CQ Researcher Plus Archive - comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news.

Historical Statistics of the United States - quantitative facts of American history. 

JSTOR - JSTOR (Journal STORage) is a large, interdisciplinary full-text database.

LexisNexis Academic - note this database's legal section.

OmniFile Full Text Mega - multi-disciplinary database, with much full-text content.

Social Sciences Full Text - standard resource, with full-text content of over 200 journals.

Women and Social Movements in the United States - covers the time period from 1600 - 2000.

Scholarly vs. Popular Articles

What is the difference? This video explains it well:

Google Scholar