Skip to main content

Physics & Engineering Research Guide: Find Books

For PLNU students and faculty in the Physics and Engineering Department. How-to guide to access print, database articles and quality Internet resources.

Online books

The following full-text titles are available online through the database Oxford Reference Online:

  • A Dictionary of Physics
  • The Oxford Companion to the History of Modern Science
  • Science, Technology, and Society
  • The New Oxford Dictionary for Scientific Writers and Editors
  • A Dictionary of Scientists

Also see Cambridge Histories Online database for full-text content of the 7 volume set of The History of Science .

 

Citing resources

Endnote is a Web-based tool for managing and citing references in papers and creating bibliographies.  EndNote has numerous citation styles including APA, MLA, Chicago (Turabian).  EndNote is available to current members of the PLNU community.  To access EndNote simply enter your PLNU network ID and password the same as you would to access campus email and Canvas.

Ryan Library WorldCat

WorldCat is Ryan Library's online catalog.  It searches books and media in the campus physical collection as well as databases we subscribe to.  It also searches holdings in libraries around the world (World Catalog.)

Google Books

Requesting Materials from Other Libraries

Use these one of these options when requesting items that are not available at Ryan Library:

Camino

  • Only books can be requested from Camino.
  • Books requested via Camino take 2-5 business days.
  • Loan period is 45 days.
  • Books cannot be renewed.
  • Overdue fines will apply.   
  • Books must be picked up from the Point Loma campus.

      InterLibrary Loan

  • Articles, books and other materials can be requested from InterLibrary Loan.
  • Books requested via InterLibrary Loan may take a minumum of 7-10 business days.
  • Loan periods and renewal availability varies depending on the participating libraries.
  • Overdue fines will apply.

Click Here for ILL Request Form

Please select either the article or book form