Skip to main content

LIN 312: Introduction to Linguistics: Research Essay

This guide covers PLNU library resources on linguistics in order to help you complete the Name Essay and Research Essay assignments.

What's a Scholarly Article?

Finding Articles

Ryan Library Databases are subscriptions provided to the PLNU community for online access to journal and magazine articles and/or citations.

When logging in, use your PLNU network login--the same information you use to sign into Canvas or the PLNU Portal.

Recommended databases for linguistics research include:

These general databases may also provide relevant content:

Obtaining Full Text for a Specific Article

InterLibrary Loan allows members of the PLNU community to request articles from another library.

Before you request an article, complete the following steps (in this order) to verify that the article is not available at PLNU:

  1. Find out if the journal is full text in one of our databases. 
  2. Find out if the journal (hard copy) is located in Ryan Library. 
  3. Use InterLibrary Loan to request the article. 

Do you work or attend classes at a PLNU location other than the main campus? Use the Interlibrary Loan form to request books or articles from PLNU's Ryan Library. 

Books About Linguistics

Search WorldCat for your topic, or request books from beyond our library with the Camino library network.  

The examples below may provide some inspiration!

Backgrounders for Linguistics

Specialized encyclopedias offer concise articles that define important concepts and theories, providing development timelines and background for current research.

Find these in the Ryan Library reference area:

Citation Cheat Sheets

Use these "cheat sheets" to find sample citations for a variety of source types.  You'll see citations for journal articles, online resources, books, and more.

Citation Format Books in Ryan Library

Ryan Library has books for each of the main styles (APA, MLA, ASA, Chicago, etc.) available in the Reference Area.